Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - Death and the Sun by Edward Lewine

A brilliant observer in the tradition of Adam Gopnik and Paul Theroux, Edward Lewine reveals a Spain few outsiders have seen. There's nothing more Spanish than bullfighting, and nothing less like its stereotype. For matadors and aficionados, it is not a blood sport but an art, an ancient subculture steeped in ritual, machismo, and the feverish attentions of fans and the press. Lewine explains Spain and the art of the bulls by spending a bullfighting season traveling Spanish highways with the celebrated matador Francisco Rivera Ordonez, following Fran, as he's known, through every region and social stratum. Fran's great-grandfather was a famous bullfighter and the inspiration for Hemingway's matador in The Sun Also Rises. Fran's father was also a star matador, until a bull took his life shortly before Fran's eleventh birthday. Fran is blessed and haunted by his family history. Formerly a top performer himself, Fran's reputation has slipped, and as the season opens he feels intense pressure to live up to his legacy amid tabloid scrutiny in the wake of his separation from his wife, a duchess. But Fran perseveres through an eventful season of early triumph, serious injury, and an unlikely return to glory.

Buy Death and the Sun by Edward Lewine from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780618872305
ISBN-10: 0618872302
Format: Paperback / softback
(221mm x 144mm x 18mm)
Imprint: Houghton Mifflin
Publisher: Houghton Mifflin
Publish Date: 1-May-2007
Country of Publication: United States

Book Reviews - Death and the Sun by Edward Lewine

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Death and the Sun book by Edward Lewine and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review