Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Get Latest Book News + FREE Shipping. Subscribe to the Boomerang Books Bulletin eNewsletter right now!

Description - The Civil Service Since 1945 by Kevin Theakston

This book provides a succinct overview of the development of the civil service since the Second World War. Adopting a broad, historical approach, it assesses the changes in organization, structure and management of the Whitehall machine, alongside the continuities in the policy and practice of public administration. Kevin Theakston draws on the full range of recent scholarship, documents in the Public Record Office, and the many postwar official investigations and reports to provide a balanced analysis of the key themes and issues. The book will be welcomed by all interested in the development of public policy and administrations, and post-war British politics in general.

Buy The Civil Service Since 1945 by Kevin Theakston from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780631188254
ISBN-10: 0631188258
Format: Paperback
(215mm x 130mm x 14mm)
Pages: 224
Imprint: Blackwell Publishers
Publisher: John Wiley and Sons Ltd
Publish Date: 16-Jan-1991
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Other Editions - The Civil Service Since 1945 by Kevin Theakston

Book Reviews - The Civil Service Since 1945 by Kevin Theakston

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Civil Service Since 1945 book by Kevin Theakston and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - Kevin Theakston

Kevin Theakston was educated at the London School of Economics and at Harvard University. He is currently Senior Lecturer in Politics at the University of Leeds. His previous books include Junior Ministers in British Government (Blackwell, 1987) and The Labour Party and Whitehall (1992).

Books By Kevin Theakston

British Foreign Secretaries Since 1974 by Kevin Theakston
Paperback, June 2015
How Labour Governments Fall by Kevin Theakston
Hardback, July 2013
Winston Churchill by Kevin Theakston
Paperback, April 2012
Volumes of Influence by Kevin Theakston
Hardback, August 2011