Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

This lucid and engaging volume provides an introduction to the essential issues and concepts of contemporary analytic philosophy. It introduces students to the pivotal arguments that motivate work in the field, while arguing a definite point of view in a style that encourages discussion and debate.It develops a broadly Fregean methodology in which semantics is concerned with the concept of content required in rationalizing explanations of behaviour. Key problems and positions covered include: truth, meaning, and inference: arguments against the possibility of meaning: the realism/anti-realism debate, and the theory of inference. This text gives voice to the idea that the study of the philosophy of thought and language is more than a specialism, but rather lies at the very heart of the discipline.

Buy Contemporary Philosophy of Thought and Language book by Michael Luntley from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780631190776
ISBN-10: 0631190775
Format: Paperback
(245mm x 171mm x 30mm)
Pages: 416
Imprint: Blackwell Publishers
Publisher: John Wiley and Sons Ltd
Publish Date: 24-Dec-1998
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Other Editions


» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Contemporary Philosophy of Thought and Language book by Michael Luntley and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - Michael Luntley

Michael Luntley is Senior Lecturer in Philosophy at the University of Warwick. He is the author of Reason, Truth, and Self: the Postmodern Reconditioned (1995), The Meaning of Socialism (1989), and Language, Logic, and Experience: the Case for Anti-Realism (1988).

Books By Author Michael Luntley

Wittgenstein by Michael Luntley


Hardback, May 2015
Reason, Truth and Self by Michael Luntley

Reason, Truth and Self

Paperback, October 1995