Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - Exploring Cognitive Development by Alison F. Garton

This book uses the paradigm of the child as problem solver to explore various theories of cognitive development. Focusing on collaborative tasks that are undertaken with other children or adults, the author explores a broad range of contemporary theoretical perspectives that could account for children's thinking and learning. In particular, she asks whether social interaction is the key to improvement in problem-solving skills, or whether the skills and abilities that the child brings to the task are paramount. The book draws on several studies, including the author's own research into dyadic problem solving.

Buy Exploring Cognitive Development by Alison F. Garton from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780631234586
ISBN-10: 0631234586
Format: Paperback
(230mm x 156mm x 11mm)
Pages: 160
Imprint: Blackwell Publishers
Publisher: John Wiley and Sons Ltd
Publish Date: 24-Feb-2004
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Other Editions - Exploring Cognitive Development by Alison F. Garton

Book Reviews - Exploring Cognitive Development by Alison F. Garton

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Exploring Cognitive Development book by Alison F. Garton and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - Alison F. Garton

Alison F. Garton is Professor of Psychology and Associate Dean at Edith Cowan University in Western Australia. She is the author of Learning to be Literate (Blackwell Publishing, Second Edition, 1998) and Social Interaction and the Development of Language and Cognition (1992), and the editor of Systems of Representation in Children (1993).

Books By Alison F. Garton

Learning to be Literate by Alison F. Garton
Paperback, April 1998