Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - Duchess of Malfi by Frank Kermode

This is the most comprehensive collection of Jacobean drama on the market. The lyrical, bloodthirsty tragedies and witty urban comedies in this original collection were first performed during the reign of King James I (1603-25). Though nearly four centuries old, they display surprisingly modern sensibilities regarding sex, violence, morality, and honor. Brilliantly introduced and annotated by Frank Kermode, these seven Jacobean masterpieces are the finest and most representative plays of a time when drama was the most vital and important mirror of English society. The masterpieces are: "A Woman Killed with Kindness" by Thomas Heywood; "Volpone" by Ben Jonson; "The Revenger's Tragedy" by Cyril Tourneur; "The Maid's Tragedy" by John Fletcher and Francis Beaumont; "A Chaste Maid in Cheapside" by Thomas Middleton; "The Duchess of Malfi" by John Webster; and "The Changeling" by Thomas Middleton and William Rowley.

Buy Duchess of Malfi by Frank Kermode from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780679642435
ISBN-10: 0679642439
Format: Paperback
(203mm x 132mm x mm)
Pages: 640
Imprint: Random House Inc
Publisher: Random House USA Inc
Publish Date: 10-May-2005
Country of Publication: United States

Book Reviews - Duchess of Malfi by Frank Kermode

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Duchess of Malfi book by Frank Kermode and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - Frank Kermode

Frank Kermode is Britain's most distinguished scholar of sixteenth- and seventeenth-century literature. He has written and edited numerous works, including Shakespeare's Language and The Age of Shakespeare.

Books By Frank Kermode

Forms of Attention by Frank Kermode
Paperback, September 2011
Concerning E.M. Forster by Frank Kermode
Paperback, November 2010
Between the Acts by Frank Kermode
Paperback, June 2008
Pleasure and Change by Frank Kermode
Paperback, June 2006