Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Get Latest Book News + FREE Shipping. Subscribe to the Boomerang Books Bulletin eNewsletter right now!

Description - The Sailor Who Fell from Grace with the Sea by Y Mishima

Yukio Mishima s "The Sailor Who Fell From Grace With the Sea" explores the vicious nature of youth that is sometimes mistaken for innocence. Thirteen-year-old Noboru is a member of a gang of highly philosophical teenage boys who reject the tenets of the adult world to them, adult life is illusory, hypocritical, and sentimental. When Noboru s widowed mother is romanced by Ryuji, a sailor, Noboru is thrilled. He idolizes this rugged man of the sea as a hero. But his admiration soon turns to hatred, as Ryuji forsakes life onboard the ship for marriage, rejecting everything Noboru holds sacred. Upset and appalled, he and his friends respond to this apparent betrayal with a terrible ferocity."

Buy The Sailor Who Fell from Grace with the Sea by Y Mishima from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780679750154
ISBN-10: 0679750150
Format: Paperback
(203mm x 133mm x 13mm)
Pages: 181
Imprint: Vintage Books
Publisher: Random House USA Inc
Publish Date: 31-Dec-1994
Country of Publication: United States

Book Reviews - The Sailor Who Fell from Grace with the Sea by Y Mishima

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Sailor Who Fell from Grace with the Sea book by Y Mishima and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - Y Mishima

Yukio Mishima was born in Tokyo in 1925. He graduated from Tokyo Imperial University s School of Jurisprudence in 1947. His first published book, "The Forest in Full Bloom," appeared in 1944 and he established himself as a major author with "Confessions of a Mask "(1949). From then until his death he continued to publish novels, short stories, and plays each year. His crowning achievement, "The Sea of Fertility" tetralogy which contains the novels "Spring Snow" (1969), "Runaway Horses" (1969), "The Temple of Dawn" (1970), and "The Decay of the Angel "(1971) is considered one of the definitive works of twentieth century Japanese fiction. In 1970, at the age of 45 and the day after completing the last novel in the "Fertility" series, Mishima committed "seppuku" (ritual suicide) a spectacular death that attracted worldwide attention."

Books By Y Mishima

Sound of Waves by Y Mishima
Paperback, October 1994