Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

"Madame de Treymes", Edith Wharton's first publication after the highly successful "The House of Mirth", is a captivating portrait of turn-of-the-century American and French culture. Inspired by Wharton's own entre into Parisian society in 1906 and reminiscent of the works of Henry James, it tells the story of two young innocents abroad: Fanny Frisbee of New York, unhappily married to the dissolute Marquis de Malrive, and John Durham, her childhood friend who arrives in Paris intent on convincing Fanny to divorce her husband and marry him instead. A subtle investigation of the clash of cultures and the role of women in the social hierarchy, "Madame de Treymes" confirms Edith Wharton's position, as Edmund Wilson wrote, as "a historian of the American society of her time." This Scribner edition of "Madame de Treymes" also includes three novellas: "The Touchstone", "Sanctuary", and "Bunner Sisters". These short works are rich in the social satire and cunning insight that characterized Wharton's highly acclaimed novels "The Age of Innocence" and "The House of Mirth".

Buy "Madame De Treymes" and Three Novels book by Edith Wharton from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780684806846
ISBN-10: 0684806843
Format: Paperback
(203mm x 132mm x 23mm)
Imprint: Prentice Hall & IBD
Publisher: Prentice Hall (a Pearson Education company)
Publish Date: 18-Dec-1995
Country of Publication: United Kingdom


» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about "Madame De Treymes" and Three Novels book by Edith Wharton and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Books By Author Edith Wharton

Hermit and the Wild Woman by Edith Wharton

The Hermit and the Wild Woman

Paperback / softback, April 2017
House of Mirth by Edith Wharton

The House of Mirth

Hardback, January 2017
Age of Innocence by Edith Wharton

The Age of Innocence

Paperback / softback, October 2016
Afterward by Edith Wharton


Paperback, October 2016