Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - The Five Ages of the Universe by Fred C. Adams

THE FIVE AGES OF THE UNIVERSE is a riveting biography of the universe which describes for the first time five distinct eras that Adams and Laughlin themselves defined as a result of their own research. From the first gasp of inflation that caused the Big Bang, through the birth of stars, to the fading of all light, THE FIVE AGES OF THE UNIVERSE describes the death of our own sun, tremendous fiery supernovae explosions, dramatic collisions of galaxies, proton decay, the evaporation of black holes and the possibility of communications when there are no planets or stars or even black holes left. This is a voyage to a land of red giants, white dwarfs, brown dwarfs, great walls larger than galaxies and WIMPs. With daring uncharacteristic of most scientists, the authors have applied themselves to the question of what precise kind of biology could possibly exist when, say, carbon atoms no longer exist. What, ultimately, is a lifeform? Their insight into the fundamental physics that allows life is both fascinating and provocative. Readers will find all the strange colour of science fiction with none of the fiction in this awesome scientific epic.

Buy The Five Ages of the Universe by Fred C. Adams from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780684865768
ISBN-10: 0684865769
Format: Paperback
Pages: 256
Imprint: The Free Press
Publisher: Simon & Schuster
Publish Date: 1-Jun-2000
Country of Publication: United States

Book Reviews - The Five Ages of the Universe by Fred C. Adams

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Five Ages of the Universe book by Fred C. Adams and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - Fred C. Adams

Fred Adams is an Associate Professor in the Physics Department at the University of Michigan. He won the Helen B. Warner Prize from the American Astronomical Society and the National Science Foundation Young Investigator Award. Gregory Laughlin is a postdoctoral fellow at the University of California and an expert in the use of supercomputers to simulate astrophysical phenomena.

Books By Fred C. Adams

Origins of Existence by Fred C. Adams
Paperback, August 2014