Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Get Latest Book News + FREE Shipping. Subscribe to the Boomerang Books Bulletin eNewsletter right now!

Description - Thea Astley: Collected Stories by Thea Astley

Thea Astley's stories capture the lushness and cruelty of the Queensland landscape with its rich wet smells and weird cast of characters. She exposes pretension and exploitation with an acid wit and comic flair, and has won worldwide acclaim for her writing. This selection of stories spans more than thirty years and includes many not previously collected, along with well-known pieces from Hunting the Wild Pineapple and It's Raining in Mango, which won the inaugural Steele Rudd Award for the best short story collection.

Buy Thea Astley: Collected Stories by Thea Astley from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780702229510
ISBN-10: 0702229512
Format: Paperback
(198mm x 132mm x 19mm)
Pages: 342
Imprint: University of Queensland Press
Publisher: University of Queensland Press
Publish Date: 1-Oct-1997
Country of Publication: Australia

Book Reviews - Thea Astley: Collected Stories by Thea Astley

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Thea Astley: Collected Stories book by Thea Astley and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - Thea Astley

Thea Astley was one of Australia's most respected and acclaimed novelists. Born in Brisbane in 1925, Astley studied arts at the University of Queensland. She held a position as Fellow in Australian Literature at Macquarie University until 1980, when she retired to write full time. In 1989 she was granted an honorary doctorate of letters from the University of Queensland. She won the Miles Franklin Award four times - in 1962 for The Well Dressed Explorer, in 1965 for The Slow Natives, in 1972 for The Acolyte and in 2000 for Drylands. In 1989 she was award the Patrick White Award. Other awards include 1975 The Age Book of the Year Award for A Kindness Cup, the 1980 James Cook Foundation of Australian Literature Studies Award for Hunting the Wild Pineapple, the 1986 ALS Gold Medal for Beachmasters, the 1988 Steele Rudd Award for It's Raining in Mango, the 1990 NSW Premier's Prize for Reaching Tin River, and the 1996 Age Book of the Year Award and the FAW Australian Unity Award for The Multiple Effects of Rainshadow. Praise for Thea Astley- 'Beyond all the satire, the wit, the occasional cruelty, and the constant compassion, the unfailing attribute of Astley's work is panache' Australian Book Review

Books By Thea Astley

Descant for Gossips by Thea Astley
Paperback, April 2015
Girl with a Monkey by Thea Astley
Paperback, December 2012
Boat Load of Home Folk by Thea Astley
Paperback, December 2012
Slow Natives by Thea Astley
Paperback, December 2012