Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Get Latest Book News + FREE Shipping. Subscribe to the Boomerang Books Bulletin eNewsletter right now!

Description - Robert Louis Stevenson by Frank McLynn

Robert Louis Stevenson, the Scottish novelist, lived a life plagued by hardship. The author of "Kidnapped", "Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde", "Treasure Island", "The Master of Ballantrae" and "Weir of Hermiston" struggled with his father, his poor health, the prudery of the Victorian reading public and, most of all, the stresses imposed on him by his wife and his stepchildren; stresses which materially contributed to his early death in 1894 at the age of 44. His life is above all a story of courage: not just the bravery needed to face the pacific hurricanes unblinkingly, but the moral strength to wrestle with half a dozen conflicts simultaneously while daily facing possible death from his weak lungs. This is his biography. The author also wrote "Charles Edward Stuart" which was shortlisted for the 1989 McVitie's Prize for Scottish Writer of the Year, and "The Jacobite Army in England" which won the 1985 Cheltenham Prize for Literature.

Buy Robert Louis Stevenson by Frank McLynn from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780712658935
ISBN-10: 0712658939
Format: Paperback
(234mm x 153mm x 32mm)
Pages: 576
Imprint: Pimlico
Publisher: Vintage Publishing
Publish Date: 3-Mar-1994
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Other Editions - Robert Louis Stevenson by Frank McLynn

Book Reviews - Robert Louis Stevenson by Frank McLynn

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Robert Louis Stevenson book by Frank McLynn and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - Frank McLynn

Frank McLynn is an historian and biographer who works across a number of fields. Much of his historiographical work has focussed on eighteenth-century Britain. His other works include Carl Gustav Jung (Bantam, 1996), Napoleon (Cape, 1997), and 1066, The Year of the Three Battles (Cape, 1998).

Books By Frank McLynn

Genghis Khan by Frank McLynn
Paperback, September 2016
Road Not Taken by Frank McLynn
Paperback, July 2013
Captain Cook by Frank McLynn
Paperback, July 2012