Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Get Latest Book News + FREE Shipping. Subscribe to the Boomerang Books Bulletin eNewsletter right now!

Description - The Boy Who Loved Books by John Sutherland

A memoir in the tradition of Lorna Sage's Bad Blood and Blake Morrison's When Did You Last See your Father? John Sutherland's childhood ended abruptly the day his father was killed at the beginning of World War Two - happily before he could kill any Germans. John's widowed mother fell in love with a new man and decamped to Argentina, leaving John to be looked after by various relatives - some more suited to raising children than others. It was an odd, unsettled childhood and John took refuge in books. He quickly learned how to fit in without disturbing people, and, in doing so, began to store up resentments as a child. These resentments, with the trigger of alcohol in later life, would one day explode - serially and for many years. The Boy Who Loved Books is an account of a disrupted childhood, but it is also an account of one man's often desperate love affair with reading matter. Books in many ways changed his life, propelling him to university, and sustaining him in the dark times that were to come. It is also a record of the shifting twentieth century and the profound changes that shook society and its ways of dealing with children in the institutions of family, school and university.

Buy The Boy Who Loved Books by John Sutherland from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780719564321
ISBN-10: 0719564328
Format: Paperback
(196mm x 127mm x 17mm)
Pages: 272
Imprint: John Murray Publishers Ltd
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton General Division
Publish Date: 28-Jun-2008
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Other Editions - The Boy Who Loved Books by John Sutherland

Book Reviews - The Boy Who Loved Books by John Sutherland

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Boy Who Loved Books book by John Sutherland and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review


Author Biography - John Sutherland

John Sutherland is Emeritus Lord Northcliffe Professor at University College London. He is the author of twenty-two books, including Stephen Spender: The Authorized Biography. He writes regular columns for the Guardian, Financial Times and New Statesman.

Books By John Sutherland

Orwell's Nose by John Sutherland
Paperback, September 2017
$22.49
Blue by John Sutherland
Hardback, May 2017
$32.43
War on the Old by John Sutherland
Hardback, November 2016
$17.99
Brontesaurus by John Sutherland
Hardback, November 2016
$20.99