Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Get Latest Book News + FREE Shipping. Subscribe to the Boomerang Books Bulletin eNewsletter right now!

Description - Lament by Maggie Stiefvater

Sixteen-year-old Deirdre Monaghan is a painfully shy but prodigiously gifted musician. She's about to find out she's also a cloverhand - one who can see faeries. Deirdre finds herself infatuated with a mysterious boy who enters her ordinary suburban life, seemingly out of thin air. Trouble is, the enigmatic and gorgeous Luke turns out to be a gallowglass - a soulless faerie assassin. An equally hunky - and equally dangerous - dark faerie soldier named Aodhan is also stalking Deirdre.Sworn enemies, Luke and Aodhan each have a deadly assignment from the Faerie Queen. Namely, kill Deirdre before her music captures the attention of the Fae and threatens the Queen's sovereignty. Caught in the crossfire with Deirdre is James, her wisecracking but loyal best friend. Deirdre had been wishing her life weren't so dull, but getting trapped in the middle of a centuries-old faerie war isn't exactly what she had in mind. "Lament" is a dark faerie fantasy that features authentic Celtic faerie lore, plus cover art and interior illustrations by acclaimed faerie artist Julia Jeffrey.

Buy Lament by Maggie Stiefvater from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780738713700
ISBN-10: 0738713708
Format: Paperback
(203mm x 127mm x mm)
Pages: 336
Imprint: Flux
Publisher: North Star Editions
Publish Date: 8-Oct-2008
Country of Publication: United States

Other Editions - Lament by Maggie Stiefvater

Book Reviews - Lament by Maggie Stiefvater

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Lament book by Maggie Stiefvater and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Book Review: Lament by Maggie Stiefvater - Reviewed by (10 Sep 2010)

Before purchasing this book I wondered what the story would be about, especially given the fact that it was about faeries! In parts, this is a love-story, but it's also about the mystical faeries. These aren't the cute, sweet things that we imagined in childhood, instead they are rather more scary.

Stiefvater has written a really interesting story and you can see that the book is left open for the following novels in the series. The characters are well developed, enabling you to escape into the world of the story and feel what the characters are going through. Unfortunately, at times, the story seems to skip over some of the deeper moments, while lingering on some of the more "teenage" elements.

Author Biography - Maggie Stiefvater

After a tumultuous past as a history major, calligraphy instructor, wedding musician, technical editor, and equestrian artist, Maggie Stiefvater is now a full-time writer and New York Times bestselling author of the Shiver trilogy, The Scorpio Races, and The Raven Boys. Her debut series, the Books of Faerie, is published by Flux. Maggie lives in the middle of nowhere, Virginia, with her charmingly straight-laced husband, two kids, four neurotic dogs, and a 1973 Camaro named Loki. Follow her on Twitter at @mstiefvater, and visit her online at

Books By Maggie Stiefvater

All the Crooked Saints by Maggie Stiefvater
Hardback, October 2017
Pip Bartlett's Guide to Unicorn Training by Maggie Stiefvater
Paperback, April 2017
Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater
Paperback, April 2017