Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - Blues Lessons by Robert Hellenga

In the lush countryside of 1950s Michigan, young Martin Dijksterhuis has everything he could ever want, living among his extended family and working in his family's orchard fields. Despite his mother's plans for him to attend college in Chicago, he has no desire to leave home. One autumn, in a camp of migrant farm workers, Martin discovers a music that touches him like nothing before -- the unsettling melodies and timeless words of the country blues. He also falls in love with Corinna, the daughter of the black foreman who runs the orchards. He ends up fathering her child, only to lose her in a stunning betrayal. Martin's music and his love for Corinna are the two themes of his life. His struggle to combine them in a single story takes him far from home and the life he had always envisioned for himself, only to bring him back again in a way he could never have imagined. In this beautifully rendered novel, Robert Hellenga explores the fragility of happiness, the struggle to discover one's true calling in life, and the sorrows and satisfactions of family.

Buy Blues Lessons by Robert Hellenga from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780743225465
ISBN-10: 0743225465
Format: Paperback
(203mm x 133mm x 19mm)
Pages: 338
Imprint: Simon & Schuster
Publisher: Simon & Schuster
Publish Date: 7-Jan-2003
Country of Publication: United States

Book Reviews - Blues Lessons by Robert Hellenga

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Blues Lessons book by Robert Hellenga and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - Robert Hellenga

Robert Hellenga is the author of The Sixteen Pleasures and The Fall of a Sparrow. He is a professor of English at Knox College in Galesburg, Illinois.

Books By Robert Hellenga

Truth About Death by Robert Hellenga
Hardback, April 2016
Confessions of Frances Godwin by Robert Hellenga
Paperback, October 2015
Sixteen Pleasures by Robert Hellenga
Paperback, February 2015
Snakewoman of Little Egypt by Robert Hellenga
Paperback, September 2011