Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - Copeland by Vega Wilkinson

For 133 years five successive generations of the Copeland family continued to run the Spode Pottery at Stoke-on-Trent, staffordshire, carrying on the tradition of quality and design which had been begun by Josiah Spode I and his son Josiah Spode II. As fashion and style changed throughout the Victorian and Edwardian era, the firm was at the forefront of the market, with a team of artists who produced a variety of ware ranging from simple menu holders, through household ware to fine hand-painted dessert services. The work of some of the best known artists is illustrated in this book, which also provides the reader with backstamps dating the ware and a short description of some of the most famous pieces of the nineteenth and twentieth centuries. It includes illustrations of Copeland Statuary Porcelain, jewelled ware, fine china, and earthenware and of royal commissions, and it concludes with examples of everyday patterns which are easily collected today.

Buy Copeland by Vega Wilkinson from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780747804628
ISBN-10: 0747804621
Format: Paperback
(210mm x 150mm x mm)
Pages: 40
Imprint: Shire Publications
Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Publish Date: 1-Jan-1999
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Other Editions - Copeland by Vega Wilkinson

Book Reviews - Copeland by Vega Wilkinson

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Copeland book by Vega Wilkinson and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - Vega Wilkinson

Vega Wilkinson's interest in Copeland began in the late 1970s as a collector. Since the mid 1980s she has been studying the art and history of the pottery and the people who made it. She has published articles on Copeland and written the guide to the Copeland China Collection at Trelissick in Cornwall.

Books By Vega Wilkinson

Spode-Copeland-Spode by Vega Wilkinson
Hardback, January 1999