1300 36 33 32

The 3 Estaites is - by common consent - Scotland's greatest play. First performed in Cupar, Fife in June 1552, it is the earliest Scottish play to have survived. Full of broad humour and pantomime-like farce, it also deals with dangerous topical issues, hitting out at corruption and hypocrisy in the ruling establishment, denouncing the oppression of the poor and calling for social "reformation". A young king is rescued from idle sexual dalliance and false counsels by Divine Correction and they preside over a Parliament summoned to enact just laws, where basic Christian tenets and values are affirmed - but Folly has the last word. In 2000 The 3 Estaites gained a fresh resonance when it celebrated both the Millennium and the rebirth of Scotland's Parliament by returning to Cupar for the first time in nearly four and a half centuries. This contemporary Scots version by the leading poet and playwright Alan Spence retains the structure and spirit of Lindsay's script while giving his language a new lease of life. The play's topical allusions have been updated brilliantly, but Lindsay's generous spirit and enormous sense of fun have been preserved. This is a national drama, expressing a comprehensive perspective of what Scotland is and what it might be - a land of justice, fellow-feeling and laughter.

Buy 3 Estaites book by Alan Spence from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780748617463
ISBN-10: 0748617469
Format: Paperback
(216mm x 138mm x 22mm)
Pages: 136
Imprint: Edinburgh University Press
Publisher: Edinburgh University Press
Publish Date: 30-Sep-2002
Country of Publication: United Kingdom


» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about 3 Estaites book by Alan Spence and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write Review

Author Biography - Alan Spence

Alan Spence is one of Scotland's leading poets and playwrights. His publications include Glasgow Zen (2002), Seasons of the Heart (2000), Stone Garden (1997), The Magic Flute (1997) and Its Colours They Are Fine (1996). Angus Calder is an academic writer, historian and literary editor.

Books By Author Alan Spence

Night Boat by Alan Spence

Night Boat

Paperback, May 2014
Justification by Alan Spence


Paperback, January 2012
Silver by Alan Spence


Paperback, May 2009
Christology by Alan Spence


Paperback, November 2008