Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Interweaving the intimate lives of three women over three generations, Sonia Lambert takes the reader on a fascinating journey ...Fleeing Nazi occupation in Austria, Helene escapes to London, where she meets and marries Charles, a British Intelligence officer. When she is summoned to join him at a posting in India, she is miserably seasick on the crossing, but also pines desperately for the baby she's been forced to leave behind. Twenty five years on, Helene's daughter, Vera, discovers she is expecting a child, and starts to suspect a downside to the swinging 60s ...As motherhood takes her into uncharted waters she begins to question everything, especially her relationship with her radical, free-thinking husband. Vera's daughter Susie, now a grown woman, has never been able to understand the animosity that exists between her mother and grandmother. With the terrible news that Vera has been diagnosed with a serious illness, Susie becomes determined to unravel their tangled family history before it is too late. As she delves into the past, she makes some surprising discoveries about the people she thought she knew best ...An evocative and unforgettable time-slip novel, this deeply satisfying debut is perfect for fans of Kate Morton, Rachel Hore and Susanna Kearsley 'An elegant three-generation weeper' - Publishers Weekly 'A wonderfully evocative talent' - Choice magazine

Buy Three Mothers book by Sonia Lambert from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780749938680
ISBN-10: 0749938684
Format: Paperback
(198mm x 131mm x 17mm)
Pages: 272
Imprint: Piatkus Books
Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
Publish Date: 6-Mar-2008
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Reviews

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Three Mothers book by Sonia Lambert and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review


Author Biography - Sonia Lambert

Sonia Lambert has had two short stories broadcast in Radio Four and one 75 minute radio play One Day Travelcard, broadcast as the Book at Bedtime as part of the First Bite Young Writers' Festival.

Books By Author Sonia Lambert

Three Mothers by Sonia Lambert

Three Mothers

Paperback, March 2007
$29.69