Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - Eighth Air Force Bomber Stories by Ian McLachlan

Each chapter looks at a particular incident or theme, including: 'Jerks Berserks' - newly discovered crew pictures and additional evidence relating to the loss at sea of an American bomber crew; 'Adrift and helpless' - were they murdered by a vengeful German U-boat crew? 'Skipper an' the Kids' - a B-17 on a whisky run to Scotland vanishes; 'Buchenwald' - a powerful account relating the little-known facts about US airmen incarcerated in Hitler's infamous death camp; 'The Innocent Sky' - rescuers risking their lives perish in a vast explosion; and 'Don't worry folks, I'm happy and fine' - a last hasty letter penned on the hardstand prior to take-off, words that echoed for generations in an American family.

Buy Eighth Air Force Bomber Stories by Ian McLachlan from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780750933605
ISBN-10: 0750933607
Format: Hardback
(244mm x 172mm x 10mm)
Pages: 224
Imprint: The History Press Ltd
Publisher: The History Press Ltd
Publish Date: 1-Aug-2004
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Other Editions - Eighth Air Force Bomber Stories by Ian McLachlan

Book Reviews - Eighth Air Force Bomber Stories by Ian McLachlan

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Eighth Air Force Bomber Stories book by Ian McLachlan and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - Ian McLachlan

Ian McLachlan is an authority on the history of the wartime USAAF in his native East Anglia. He is the author of Final Flights(1989), 8th Air Force Bomber Stories(1991), Night of the Intruders(1994) and USAAF Fighter Stories(1997). Ian lives in Beccles, Sufolk.

Books By Ian McLachlan

Flights Into History by Ian McLachlan
Paperback, July 2010
Night of the Intruders by Ian McLachlan
Hardback, June 2010
USAAF Fighter Stories by Ian McLachlan
Hardback, May 2005