Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Get Latest Book News + FREE Shipping. Subscribe to the Boomerang Books Bulletin eNewsletter right now!

Description - Lords of Alba by Ian W. Walker

The early Scottish kingdom underwent a fundamental transformation between the tenth and twelfth centuries. It started out as the Kingdom of Alba with a largely Gaelic language and culture and strong links to Ireland. It ended up as the Kingdom of Scotland with a more mixed culture, increasingly influenced by its southern English neighbour. This fundamental change is usually attributed to two important figures, St Margaret (wife of Malcolm Canmore) and David I (his son). Malcolm Canmore himself has remained misunderstood and under-appreciated, despite the fact he was a central figure during this period of change. He ruled for 36 years and had spent more than 15 years in exile in England before his eventual succession to the throne in 1057. He maintained closer relations with England than most of his predecessors and he moved the focal centre of the kingdom further south than ever before and into former Northumbrian territory. The house which Malcolm founded lasted 250 years, until the death of Alexander III. This important new book on early medieval Scottish history considers how and why the Scottish kingdom was changed at this time. In particular, it looks at the role of individuals who initiated or influenced this process.

Buy Lords of Alba by Ian W. Walker from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780750934923
ISBN-10: 0750934921
Format: Paperback
(234mm x 156mm x 10mm)
Pages: 304
Imprint: Sutton Publishing Ltd
Publisher: The History Press Ltd
Publish Date: 19-Jan-2006
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Book Reviews - Lords of Alba by Ian W. Walker

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Lords of Alba book by Ian W. Walker and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - Ian W. Walker

Ian Walker is a senior civil servant working in the Scottish Executive. His previous books include 'Harold: The Last Anglo-Saxon King', shortlisted for the 1997 Longman/History Today Book of the Year award and 'Mercia and the Making of England'.

Books By Ian W. Walker

Iron Hulls, Iron Hearts by Ian W. Walker
Paperback, March 2006
Harold by Ian W. Walker
Paperback, December 2004