1300 36 33 32

Caroline Luard was shot near Ightham in Kent in 1908. Within weeks, her husband, the respectable Major-General Charles Luard, committed suicide. It was rumoured that he killed himself following a tip-off from the local chief constable that he was about to be arrested. In 1910, John Nisbet, a colliery cashier, was robbed and murdered on a train in Northumberland. Three days after the crime, police arrested a man called John Dickman, who was subsequently executed. The conviction, however, relied on circumstantial evidence. In 1950, C. H. Norman, who acted as official shorthand writer at Dickman's trial, claimed that Dickman was framed for Nisbet's murder, because the judge and prosecuting council believed him guilty of the murder of Caroline Luard. Is it conceivable that John Dickman was guilty of both murders? Or was he framed, and unjustly executed? This new book provides the definitive account of both murders. Including previously unpublished evidence, it is a compelling read, vividly recreating the atmosphere of the Edwardian age. These true crimes bear all the hallmarks of traditional English period murder: steam trains, revolvers, an isolated summerhouse, retired army officers, parlour maids, to say nothing of conspiracy theories, murder, suicide, an execution and a love story.

Buy Edwardian Murder book by Diane Janes from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780750947800
ISBN-10: 0750947802
Format: Hardback
(197mm x 156mm x 10mm)
Pages: 336
Imprint: Sutton Publishing Ltd
Publisher: The History Press Ltd
Publish Date: 21-Jun-2007
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Other Editions


» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Edwardian Murder book by Diane Janes and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write Review

Author Biography - Diane Janes

Diane Janes has lived in the north of England for most of her adult life, and in the Lake District for the past six years. She is a full-time writer of crime novels and investigative non-fiction. Her novel Moonshadow was highly commended in the 2006 CWA Debut Daggers Award for unpublished works.

Books By Author Diane Janes

Swimming in the Shadows by Diane Janes

Swimming in the Shadows

Hardback, March 2016
Case of the Poisoned Partridge by Diane Janes

The Case of the Poisoned Partridge

Paperback, September 2013
Why Don't You Come for Me? by Diane Janes

Why Don't You Come for Me?

Paperback, May 2011