Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Get Latest Book News + FREE Shipping. Subscribe to the Boomerang Books Bulletin eNewsletter right now!

Description - Admit to Murder by Margaret Yorke

The daughter of a well-to-do family and recovering from a hopeless love affair, Louise Vaughan vanishes one night while returning home from a choir practice. Her car is discovered, together with her handbag, but no trace of Louise is found. Her family are forced to accept that she is dead. Twelve years later David Marsh, who worked on the original investigation, returns to the area as its Chief Superintendent. He'd never forgotten the case and decides to have a fresh look at the facts and the people involved. He learns that Louise's parents and their adopted son are still in the area - the former surviving in a blanket of grief, the latter wheeling and dealing while teetering on the edge of bankruptcy. Her parents are physically supported by Norah, who'd come into their lives as an evacuee during the war and who has another, more binding tie to the family. And there is Louise's ex-lover, now a sleekly prosperous businessman. Marsh knows they all have secrets to reveal, but can he persuade the really guilty one to admit to murder?

Buy Admit to Murder by Margaret Yorke from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780751531923
ISBN-10: 0751531928
Format: Paperback
(178mm x 108mm x mm)
Pages: 304
Imprint: Sphere
Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
Publish Date: 4-Jul-2002
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Book Reviews - Admit to Murder by Margaret Yorke

US Kirkus Review » A leisurely saga chronicling the lives of Feringham's solid, upper-class George and Susan Vaughn, their adopted son Malcolm, daughter Louise, and lifelong friend Norah Tyler - who'd come to Susan's mother as a child refugee from London's wartime blitz and, over time, had developed other, secret ties to the family. Norah had long been settled in London when Louise, working in London but living at home, vanished one night after a rehearsal with the Feringham Choral Society. The police, headed by Detective Sergeant Marsh, get nowhere, finding not a trace of Louise, dead or alive. Fifteen years later, Susan's autocratic mother had died; Susan and George have moved into her smaller home on the estate, selling most of the land. Meanwhile, Malcolm has started yet another business - used cars this time after a sojourn in Australia, a failed marriage, endless affairs, and numerous bailouts by his mother. Norah has retired to live with and take care of the Vaughns. Sergeant Marsh, now Detective-Inspector, has recently returned to the area - still fretting over Louise's unsolved disappearance and still unofficially probing - when new and tragic events bring back the past and provide a downbeat, ironic end to another of the author's literate, perceptive stories (Crime in Question, etc.,). This one, with a minimum of both mystery and detection, may appeal most to readers of romances. (Kirkus Reviews)

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Admit to Murder book by Margaret Yorke and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - Margaret Yorke

Margaret Yorke was awarded the 1999 Cartier Diamond Dagger. She has been Chairman of the CWA and is a member of the Detection Club. She is the author of over 40 novels and numerous short stories.

Books By Margaret Yorke

Price of Guilt by Margaret Yorke
Paperback, January 2014
Question of Belief by Margaret Yorke
Paperback, January 2014
Act of Violence by Margaret Yorke
Paperback, January 2014
False Pretences by Margaret Yorke
Paperback, January 2014