Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Get Latest Book News + FREE Shipping. Subscribe to the Boomerang Books Bulletin eNewsletter right now!

Description - The Grand Slam by Mark Frost

In the wake of the 1929 stock-market crash, an amateur golfer began a decade of unparalleled achievement, seeming a ray of light in an otherwise depressed America. Bobby Jones won the British Amateur Championship, the British Open, the US Open and the US Amateur Championship. A new phrase was born: The Grand Slam. A modest, sensitive man, a lawyer from a middle-class Atlanta family, Jones had barely survived a sickly childhood, and took up golf at the age of five for health reasons. He made his debut at the US Amateur Championship in 1916 and his genius was recognised by his inspiration, Francis Ouimet. However, he had an ungovernable temper and it wasn't until 1923 that Jones harnessed his talent and eclipsed Ouimet. His health was never good and the strain of completing the Slam exacted a ferocious toll; the US Open, played in July in blazing heat, nearly killed him. Jones fought to keep his fragile condition a secret from a country suffering from the Depression, but at the age of 28, after winning the US Amateur, he retired. His abrupt disappearance at the height of his renown inspired an impenetrable myth, to this day still fiercely protected by family and friends.

Buy The Grand Slam by Mark Frost from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780751535754
ISBN-10: 0751535753
Format: Paperback
(198mm x 133mm x 30mm)
Pages: 448
Imprint: Sphere
Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
Publish Date: 1-Jul-2006
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Book Reviews - The Grand Slam by Mark Frost

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Grand Slam book by Mark Frost and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - Mark Frost

Mark Frost is the author of THE GREATEST GAME EVER PLAYED, THE LIST OF SEVEN, THE SIX MESSIAHS and BEFORE I WAKE. He has written and produced several television series, including Hill Street Blues and Twin Peaks.

Books By Mark Frost

Twin Peaks: The Final Dossier by Mark Frost
Hardback, October 2017
Twin Peaks by Mark Frost
Hardback, October 2017
Secret History of Twin Peaks by Mark Frost
Hardback, October 2016