Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Get Latest Book News + FREE Shipping. Subscribe to the Boomerang Books Bulletin eNewsletter right now!

Description - Having a Lovely Time by Jenny Eclair

Meet the Dobsons and the Jamiesons: two ordinary families on the verge of a nervous breakdown. Joe Dobson left his wife and kids when his young girlfriend Nina discovered she was pregnant. Now he feels like a cliche and Nina feels like a drudge, swapping her wild nights out with friends for mild nights in wiping baby sick off the carpet. So when Joe announces that he's booked a week's luxury holiday in Italy, Nina is thrilled - until she realises Joe's kids Saul and Tabitha are coming along for the ride. Meanwhile Guy Jamieson is sure this will be his last family holiday; he plans to leave his wife Alice on his return. Guy is a high-powered advertising director, and Alice - with her elasticated skirts, inedible mince suppers and unshaven legs - just doesn't fit his image. But Alice has a secret plan of her own: to have another baby...Funny, smart and refreshingly honest, HAVING A LOVELY TIME is all about infidelity, jealousy, resentment, recriminations and, just occasionally, love.

Buy Having a Lovely Time by Jenny Eclair from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780751536058
ISBN-10: 0751536059
Format: Paperback
(197mm x 134mm x 22mm)
Pages: 320
Imprint: Time Warner Paperbacks
Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
Publish Date: 7-Jul-2005
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Other Editions - Having a Lovely Time by Jenny Eclair

Book Reviews - Having a Lovely Time by Jenny Eclair

US Kirkus Review » Chick-lit grows up in this saga of two complicated families linked by a drunken one-night stand.Scarlett O'Hara could have warned these women: Life goes on even if you've lost the man. In the second novel by stand-up comedian Eclair (Camberwell Beauty, 2006), 25-year-old Nina has landed a boyfriend, Joe, but now finds herself saddled with a toddler, two not-quite-step-kids (she and Joe aren't any closer to marriage) and severe envy of her club-hopping single friends. Across London, Joe's ex-wife, Hils, has begun to spread her wings with the publication of a memoir, Diary of a Divorcee, but aches acutely for her lost life, while clueless Alice refuses to see the truth about her cheating husband, Guy, or their unhappy children. Everyone is in transition, and despite the rather formulaic storytelling, Eclair builds suspense, particularly around Joe and Nina's ambivalence about their not-yet-formalized union and their devil's-spawn of a toddler, Freya. The domestic comedy rolls into action when Joe and Nina, along with all his children, end up at the same Italian villa as Alice's brood. Alice's unfaithful spouse, Guy, doesn't handle his separation from his mistress well, and their troubled younger son starts acting up. The author indulges in some chick-lit excess, personifying the alternating narrators through their ease with profanity and using brand-names as shorthand for description. But she keeps the Manolo Blahnik references in check, and the voices, including that of insecure 13-year-old Tabitha, ring true. There's little surprise as to how this will play out, although Eclair does keep two secrets to the end."Loving your children is easy, liking them is a bonus," is as much of a moral as Eclair draws, but it goes down easily in her breezy, readable prose. (Kirkus Reviews)

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Having a Lovely Time book by Jenny Eclair and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - Jenny Eclair

Jenny Eclair is an extremely popular broadcaster, comedian and actor. She is the sole female winner of the Perrier Award, and often features on BBC radio and television.

Books By Jenny Eclair

Listening in by Jenny Eclair
Hardback, June 2017
Moving by Jenny Eclair
Paperback, December 2015
Life, Death and Vanilla Slices by Jenny Eclair
Paperback, August 2013
Chin Up, Britain by Jenny Eclair
Hardback, September 2010