Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Now retired from the London theatre, Shakespeare returns to Stratford to live with his wife and children. But coming home to a house of women where routines have long been established is no easy task: his daughters merely find their famous father an unwanted intrusion. This moving story of Shakespeare's latter years in Stratford centres on the adjustments the family has to make, and explores Will's relationship with his two daughters and the men they decide to marry. This concluding novel in Eric Malpass' masterful trilogy on Shakespeare's life is as memorable as Sweet Will and The Cleopatra Boy.

Buy A House of Women book by Eric Malpass from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780755101962
ISBN-10: 0755101960
Format: Paperback
(205mm x 135mm x 16mm)
Pages: 250
Imprint: House of Stratus
Publisher: House of Stratus
Publish Date: 30-Jun-2001
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Other Editions


US Kirkus Review » This is the third part of Mr. Malpass' trilogy based on Shakespeare's life (the predecessors Sweet [fill and The Cleopatra passed unseen here) proceeding gently with the "truth [that] has a quiet breast." Now tireder than his 45 years might justify - "the heyday in the blood is tame" - Will returns to Anne, his two daughters and his (dying) mother: Susanna is cast under an evil spell by her evil sister, Judith, but comes to and marries the attending Dr. Hall; Judith meantime goes on to have her own seizures and then wed a sinner; and finally at the end "men must endure/Their going hence, even as their coming hither" and Will goes hence leaving Anne alone for the last time. . . . "Good morrow mistress?" (Kirkus Reviews)

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about House of Women book by Eric Malpass and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - Eric Malpass

Eric Malpass worked in a bank after leaving school, but his firm ambition was to become a novelist and he wrote in his spare time for many years. His first book, 'Morning's at Seven', was published to wide acclaim. With an intuitive eye for the quirkiness of family life, his novels are full of wry comments and perceptive observations. This exquisite sense of detail has led to the filming of three of his books. His most engaging character is Gaylord Pentecost - a charming seven-year-old who observes the strange adult world with utter incredulity. Eric Malpass also wrote biographical novels, carefully researched and highly evocative of the period. Amongst these is 'Of Human Frailty', the moving story of Thomas Cramner. With his amusing and lovingly drawn details of life in rural England, Malpass' books typify a certain whimsical Englishness - a fact which undoubtedly contributes to his popularity in Europe. Married with a family, Eric Malpass lived in Long Eaton, near Nottingham, until his death in 1996.

Books By Author Eric Malpass

Cleopatra Boy by Eric Malpass

The Cleopatra Boy

Paperback, June 2001
Sweet Will by Eric Malpass

Sweet Will

Paperback, June 2001
Wind Brings Up the Rain by Eric Malpass

The Wind Brings Up the Rain

Paperback, June 2001
Summer Awakening by Eric Malpass

Summer Awakening

Paperback, June 2001