Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - Dead and Buried (Bob Skinner Series, Book 16) by Quintin Jardine

Murder is rarely cut and dried. Usually it follows its own unique, twisted logic...Deputy Chief Constable Bob Skinner has a failed marriage on his hands, and a death on his conscience. He faces the biggest challenge of his career within the secret corridors of Westminster, where dark power is wielded. Meanwhile, back in Edinburgh, Skinner's daughter is being harassed by a stalker. Can he protect her? A bookmaker has taken one gamble too many and paid his debt in a gruesome fashion. Is it an underworld vendetta, or something more sinister? Alongside it all a casual call to the Chief Constable sets him on a personal crusade which quickly points to a bigamist at work. Or is it worse? Four crimes, four crises: can Skinner and his people solve them? Indeed can they survive them?

Buy Dead and Buried (Bob Skinner Series, Book 16) by Quintin Jardine from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780755304103
ISBN-10: 0755304101
Format: Paperback
(178mm x 114mm x 31mm)
Pages: 480
Imprint: Headline Book Publishing
Publisher: Headline Publishing Group
Publish Date: 8-Feb-2007
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Other Editions - Dead and Buried (Bob Skinner Series, Book 16) by Quintin Jardine

Book Reviews - Dead and Buried (Bob Skinner Series, Book 16) by Quintin Jardine

US Kirkus Review » Having solved every crime in Scotland (Lethal Intent, 2005, etc.), DCC Bob Skinner is ready when England sends for him.Something's rotten in the upper echelons of MI5 and MI6-murder, treason, conspiracy, take your pick of high crimes and misdemeanors-and somebody big is required to set things right. They don't come much bigger than broad-shouldered Bob Skinner, but it's his reputation for independence and probity that's caused London to issue its SOS. The powers that be want an investigation that will withstand scrutiny so that they can emerge with luster restored. Skinner's signature on their report is an acceptable trade-off, they feel, for having a famous loose cannon on the premises. Not everyone in Whitehall concurs. After all, the secret services are nothing if not secretive. So Skinner has a job-and-a-half on his hands. Meanwhile, back in Edinburgh, the bereft constabulary is doing its best to muddle through in the big man's absence. Feeling the pinch, even top cop Sir James Proud pitches in when an attractive lady in distress places a curious phone call to him. Curiouser and curiouser, since it turns out that Sir James's home-grown case and Skinner's far-flung one have an interesting connection.Though Jardine's blokes and birds in blue are a bit less randy than usual, flamboyant Skinner, in bed or out, is enough to keep the pages turning. (Kirkus Reviews)

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Dead and Buried (Bob Skinner Series, Book 16) book by Quintin Jardine and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - Quintin Jardine

Quintin Jardine was born once upon a time in the West - of Scotland rather than America, but still he grew to manhood as a massive Sergio Leone fan. On the way there he was educated, against his will, in Glasgow, where he ditched a token attempt to study law for more interesting careers in journalism, government propaganda, and political spin-doctoring. After a close call with the Brighton Bomb in 1984, he moved into the even riskier world of media relations consultancy, before realising that all along he had been training to become a crime writer. Now, forty novels later, he never looks back. Along the way he has created/acquired an extended family in Scotland and Spain. Everything he does is for them. He can be tracked down through his blog:

Books By Quintin Jardine

Game Over (Bob Skinner Series, Book 27) by Quintin Jardine
Paperback, September 2017
State Secrets (Bob Skinner Series, Book 28) by Quintin Jardine
Paperback, September 2017
Private Investigations by Quintin Jardine
Paperback, May 2016