Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

In celebration of its 65th anniversary, the House of Ideas proudly presents a timeless testament to another true Marvel visionary! In 1961, writer Stan Lee penned "Fantastic Four" numbered 1, an historic issue unlike any comic book that had come before. This super-hero team had true personalities - they doubted their own abilities, battled problems of money and illness, and even fought among themselves. The monumental popularity of this realistic comic-book style inspired Lee to create similarly themed titles - including "Hulk", "X-Men", and "Avengers" with artist Jack Kirby; and "Amazing Spider-Man" with artist Steve Ditko. By 1965, Lee had successfully established Marvel Comics as a cohesive universe populated by world-famous comic-book characters. Now, this deluxe keepsake edition collects his greatest moments - some never before reprinted: "Captain America Foils the Traitor's Revenge" ("Captain America Comics" numbered 3): Stan's first story, a two-page text piece!; "The Red Skull's Deadly Revenge" ("Captain America Comics" numbered 16): The defining Golden Age Red Skull story!; "The Raving Madman" ("Suspense" numbered 29): Stan's satire on Frederick Wertham and the comics witch hunts of the 50s!; "Your Name Is Frankenstein!" ("Menace" numbered 7): A modern Frankenstein story, featuring many of the elements of the later Marvel books!; "Where Walks the Ghost" ("Amazing Adult Fantasy" numbered 11): A short, twist-ending story by Lee and Ditko! Plus: "Spider-Man" ("Amazing Fantasy" numbered 15); and "A Visit With the Fantastic Four" ("Fantastic Four" numbered 11). This deluxe keepsake edition also collects: "How Stan and Steve Create Spider-Man" ("Amazing Spider-Man Annual" numbered 1); "In Mortal Combat with Sub-Mariner" ("Daredevil" numbered 7); "The Final Chapter" ("Amazing Spider-Man" numbered 33); "Bedlam in the Baxter Building" ("Fantastic Four Annual" numbered 3); "And Who Shall Mourn for Him?" ("Silver Surfer" numbered 5); "Brother, Take My Hand" ("Daredevil") numbered 47; "And Now, The Goblin," "In the Grip of the Goblin," and "The Goblin's Last Stand" (from "Amazing Spider-Man" numbered 96-98); "No Longer Alone" ("Captain America" numbered 110); "No More the Thunder God," "When Gods Go Mad," and "One God Must Fall" (from "Thor" numbered 179-181); "While the World Spins Mad" ("Marvel Premiere" numbered 3); and "The Circle of Life" ("Spectacular Spider-Man Super-Special 1995")!

Buy Marvel Visionaries Stan Lee HC book by Stan Lee from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780785116936
ISBN-10: 0785116931
Format: Hardback
(280mm x 184mm x 22mm)
Pages: 336
Imprint: Marvel Comics
Publisher: Marvel Comics
Publish Date: 9-Feb-2005
Country of Publication: United States


» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Marvel Visionaries Stan Lee HC book by Stan Lee and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Books By Author Stan Lee

Tales of Norse Mythology by Stan Lee

Tales of Norse Mythology

Hardback, June 2017
Spider-Man vs. The Vulture by Stan Lee

Spider-Man vs. The Vulture

Paperback, May 2017