Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - Temptation by Vaclav Havel

In his most challenging work to date, Czech playwright Vaclav Havel has given the Faust legend a provocative twist. His setting is the Institute, whose mission is to combat the irrational tendencies in society through its scientific work. Personal and professional relationships at this lighthouse of truthful knowledge are a tissue of lies and sycophancy in which all concerned willingly collude. The only tempest in this teapot of careerism is Dr Foustka, who has lately been smitten by metaphysical doubt and is rumored to be dabbling in the black arts. His mentor, the unlikely Mephistopheles of the piece, is a dwarflike old man with smelly feet and a slippery logic that irresistibly appeals to Foustka's intellectual hubris. With great wit and originality Havel follows the familiar outlines of the story to a unique conclusion at a witches' sabbath garden party organized by the Institute's crafty director in the spirit of modern group-costume therapy. For Havel, the rational carried to surreal lengths of irrationality is not a theatrical technique but a fact of life in Czechoslovakia since the Soviet invasion of 1968. Yet in universalizing his tale through the Faust legend, he forcefully reminds us that under conditions of modern bureaucracy neither East nor West holds a monopoly on the sale of souls.

Buy Temptation by Vaclav Havel from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780802131003
ISBN-10: 080213100X
Format: Paperback
(210mm x 135mm x mm)
Pages: 102
Imprint: Avalon Travel Publishing
Publisher: Avalon Travel Publishing
Publish Date: 12-Jan-1994
Country of Publication: United States

Other Editions - Temptation by Vaclav Havel

Book Reviews - Temptation by Vaclav Havel

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Temptation book by Vaclav Havel and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - Vaclav Havel

Havel went to prison in 1979 for his dedication to human rights. In 1989, he became president of Czechoslovakia and since 1993 he has been president of the Czech Republic. A world-renowned playwright, he is also the author of The Art of the Impossible.

Books By Vaclav Havel

Economics of Good and Evil by Vaclav Havel
Paperback, October 2013
We Are Children Just the Same by Vaclav Havel
Paperback, January 2013
In Search of Lost Meaning by Vaclav Havel
Hardback, May 2011