Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Get Latest Book News + FREE Shipping. Subscribe to the Boomerang Books Bulletin eNewsletter right now!

Description - The Notebook by Agota Kristof

These three internationally acclaimed novels have confirmed Agota Kristof's reputation as one of the most provocative exponents of new-wave European fiction. With all the stark simplicity of a fractured fairy tale, the trilogy tells the story of twin brothers, Claus and Lucas, locked in an agonizing bond that becomes a gripping allegory for the forces that have divided "brothers" in much of Europe since World War II. Kristof's postmodern saga begins with The Notebook, in which the brothers are children, lost in a country torn apart by conflict, who must learn every trick of evil and cruelty merely to survive. In The Proof, Lucas is challenged to prove his own identity and the existence of his missing brother, a defector to the "other side." The Third Lie, which closes the trilogy, is a biting parable of Eastern and Western Europe today and a deep exploration into the nature of identity, storytelling, and the truths and untruths that lie at the heart of them all.

Buy The Notebook by Agota Kristof from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780802135063
ISBN-10: 0802135064
Format: Paperback
(216mm x 140mm x mm)
Pages: 478
Imprint: Avalon Travel Publishing
Publisher: Avalon Travel Publishing
Publish Date: 23-Jun-1997
Country of Publication: United States

Book Reviews - The Notebook by Agota Kristof

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Notebook book by Agota Kristof and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Books By Agota Kristof

Agota Kristof: Collected Plays by Agota Kristof
Paperback, July 2017
Notebook Trilogy, by Agota Kristof
Paperback, March 2016
Notebook by Agota Kristof
Paperback, January 2014