1300 36 33 32

A central figure in twentieth-century American literature, Robert Penn Warren was appointed by the Library of Congress as the first Poet Laureate of the United States in 1985. Warren wrote enduring fiction as well as influential works of literary criticism and theory. Yet, as this variorum edition of his published poems suggests, it is his poetry - spanning sixty years, sixteen volumes of verse, and a wide range of styles - that places Warren among America's foremost men of letters. In this volume, John Burt, Warren's literary executor, has gathered together every poem Warren ever published (with the exception of Brother to Dragons), including the many poems he published in The Fugitive and other magazines, as well as those that appeared in his small press works and broadsides. Burt has also exhaustively collated all of the published versions of Warren's poems - in some cases, a poem appeared as many as six different times with substantive revisions in every line - as well as the author's typescripts and proofs. And since Warren never seemed to reread any of his books without a pencil in hand, Burt has referred to Warren's personal library copies. A record of Burt's comprehensive analysis is found in this edition's textual notes, list of emendations, and explanatory notes.

Buy Collected Poems of Robert Penn Warren book by Robert Penn Warren from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780807123331
ISBN-10: 0807123331
Format: Hardback
(229mm x 152mm x 57mm)
Pages: 856
Imprint: Louisiana State University Press
Publisher: Louisiana State University Press
Publish Date: 1-Oct-1998
Country of Publication: United States


» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Collected Poems of Robert Penn Warren book by Robert Penn Warren and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write Review

Author Biography - Robert Penn Warren

John Burt, professor of English at Brandeis University, is the author of Robert Penn Warren and American Idealism and the poetry collections The Way Down and Work Without Hope.

Books By Author Robert Penn Warren

Who Speaks for the Negro? by Robert Penn Warren

Who Speaks for the Negro?

Paperback, December 2014
All the King's Men by Robert Penn Warren

All the King's Men

Paperback, August 2007
Southern Harvest by Robert Penn Warren

A Southern Harvest

Paperback / softback, April 2007
Remember the Alamo! by Robert Penn Warren

Remember the Alamo!

Paperback, April 2004