Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Get Latest Book News + FREE Shipping. Subscribe to the Boomerang Books Bulletin eNewsletter right now!

Description - The Saxon Shore by Jack Whyte

Merlyn Britannicus and Uther Pendragon - The Silver Bear and The Red Dragon - are the leaders of the Colony, lifeblood to the community from which will come the fabled Camulod. They are the descendants of those brave Romans who forged a new way of life for the Celt and Roman peoples when the Roman legions departed Britain. They have sworn to protect the Colony's safety and have pledged their lives to preserve the past and to fulfill a dream. But their tranquillity is in ruins, Uther lies dead following treachery... and all that is left of the dream is the babe Arthur. Heir to the Colony of Camulod, born with Roman heritage, as well as the royal blood of the Hibernians and the Celts, Arthur is the living incarnation of the sacred dream of his ancestors: independent survival in Britain amidst the ruins of the Roman Empire. When Arthur is adopted by his cousin, Caius Merlyn Britannicus, an enormous responsibility is placed upon Merlyn's shoulders. Now he must prepare young Arthur to unify the clans of Britain and guard the mighty sword Excalibur, crafted by his great uncle Publius Varrus. Above all, Merlyn must see that Arthur survives to achieve his ancestors' dreams - in spite of the deadly threats rumbling from the Saxon Shore.

Buy The Saxon Shore by Jack Whyte from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780812544169
ISBN-10: 0812544161
Format: Paperback
(171mm x 106mm x 31mm)
Pages: 716
Imprint: St Martin's Press
Publisher: St Martin's Press
Publish Date: 22-Apr-1999
Country of Publication: United States

Other Editions - The Saxon Shore by Jack Whyte

Book Reviews - The Saxon Shore by Jack Whyte

US Kirkus Review » Fourth volume in the Camulod Chronicles, Scots-born Whyte's reinvention of the Arthurian saga, begun with The Skystone (1996) and the discovery of a new metal with which to forge Excalibur, The Singing Sword(1996, not reviewed) and - 200 years later - The Eagle's Brood (1997), in which the Roman occupation of fifth-century Britain hears the first chords of its death knell. Now, the Colony that will become the fabled Camulod is ruled by Merlyn Britannicus and Uther Pendragon. When Uther (Arthur's father) dies, cousin Merlyn cares for the babe and raises him to unify Britain and guard Excalibur. Bernard Cornwell's more florid, less gritty trilogy of Arthur ends with Excalibur (see above), while Whyte's doorstoppers are historically more dense and action-crammed than marvelous, and - with Arthur still a child after four long volumes - already dwarf Le Morte d'Arthur, will soon loom over Gibbon's Decline and Fall, and, with the Saxon chronicles marching on logically into Ivanhoe and The Waverley Novels, may simply go on forever. (Kirkus Reviews)

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Saxon Shore book by Jack Whyte and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - Jack Whyte

Jack Whyte is a Scots-born, award-winning Canadian author whose poem, The Faceless One, was featured at the 1991 New York Film Festival. The Camulod Chronicles is his greatest work, a stunning retelling of one of our greatest legends: the making of King Arthur's Britain. He lives in British Columbia, Canada.

Books By Jack Whyte

Guardian by Jack Whyte
Paperback / softback, February 2017
Uprising by Jack Whyte
Paperback, July 2015
Resistance by Jack Whyte
Paperback, July 2014
Robert the Bruce by Jack Whyte
Paperback / softback, June 2014