1300 36 33 32

Joyce Carol Oates's "Wonderland Quartet" comprises four remarkable novels that explore social class in America and the inner lives of young Americans. In "A Garden of Earthly Delights", Oates presents one of her most memorable heroines, Clara Walpole, the beautiful daughter of Kentucky-born migrant farmworkers. Desperate to rise above her haphazard existence of violence and poverty, determined not to repeat her mother's life, Clara struggles for independence by way of her relationships with four very different men: her father, a family man turned itinerant laborer, smoldering with resentment; the mysterious Lowry, who rescues Clara as a teenager and offers her the possibility of love; Revere, a wealthy landowner who provides Clara with stability; and Swan, Clara's son, who bears the psychological and spiritual burden of his mother's ambition. A masterly work from a writer with "the uncanny ability to give us a cinemascopic vision of her America" (National Review), "A Garden of Earthly Delights" is the opening stanza in what would become one of the most powerful and engrossing story arcs in literature. "A Garden of Earthly Delights" is the first novel in the "Wonderland Quartet". The books that complete this acclaimed series, "Expensive People", them, and "Wonderland", are also available from the Modern Library.

Buy Garden of Earthly Delights book by Joyce Carol Oates from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780812968347
ISBN-10: 0812968344
Format: Paperback
(201mm x 130mm x 18mm)
Pages: 432
Imprint: Modern Library Inc
Publisher: Random House USA Inc
Publish Date: 9-Jul-2006
Country of Publication: United States


» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Garden of Earthly Delights book by Joyce Carol Oates and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write Review

Author Biography - Joyce Carol Oates

Joyce Carol Oates is the Roger S. Berlind Professor in the Humanities at Princeton University. She is the author of numerous works of fiction and poetry, as well as books of essays, criticism, and plays. She lives in Princeton, New Jersey.

Books By Author Joyce Carol Oates

Book of American Martyrs by Joyce Carol Oates

A Book of American Martyrs

Hardback, June 2017
Man Without a Shadow by Joyce Carol Oates

The Man Without a Shadow

Paperback, January 2017
Doll-Master and Other Tales of Horror by Joyce Carol Oates

The Doll-Master and Other Tales of Horror

Paperback, December 2016
Soul at the White Heat by Joyce Carol Oates

Soul at the White Heat

Hardback, November 2016