Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - Cab at the Door by V. S. Pritchett

Two enchanting memoirs from V. S. Pritchett, available for the first time in a single volume A Cab at the Door, originally published in 1968, recalls his childhood in turn-of-the-century and World War I London with the urbane subtlety and wry humor that have marked his other works. For the wild and eccentric Pritchett family, life is a series of cabs waiting at the door to transport them to a succession of ten-bob-a-week lodgings, in their flight from creditors and the financial disasters of their father. A Cab at the Door also captures the texture and color of the working-class side of Edwardian England. Midnight Oil (which Wilfrid Sheed called a -little Rolls Royce of a book- when it came out in 1972) opens in 1921: Pritchett arrives in Paris to commence with a literary career. Gradually, his creative sensibilities emerge as he travels as a reporter to Ireland, Spain, and America. Midnight Oil provides an intimate and precise record of a writer's discovery of himself and his art. -Pritchett is one of the great pleasure-givers in our language, - said Eudora Welty.

Buy Cab at the Door by V. S. Pritchett from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780812991833
ISBN-10: 0812991834
Format: Paperback
Pages: 436
Imprint: Modern Library Inc
Publisher: Random House USA Inc
Publish Date: 7-Jan-1994
Country of Publication: United States

Book Reviews - Cab at the Door by V. S. Pritchett

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Cab at the Door book by V. S. Pritchett and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Books By V. S. Pritchett

On the Edge of the Cliff by V. S. Pritchett
Paperback, March 2015
Lasting Impressions by V. S. Pritchett
Paperback, December 2012
Oxford Book of Short Stories by V. S. Pritchett
Paperback, March 2010
Essential Stories by V. S. Pritchett
Paperback, January 2005