Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - Freedom, Fame, Lying and Betrayal by Leszek Kolakowski

Polish philosopher Leszek Kolakowski is renowned worldwide for wrestling with serious philosophical conundrums with dazzling elegance. In this new book, he turns his characteristic wit to important themes of ordinary life, from the need for freedom to the wheel of fortune, from the nature of God to the ambiguities of betrayal. Extremely lucid and lacking in intellectual pretension, these essays speak in everyday language, spurring the readers own thoughts and providing a handle on which to debate and think about the themes. The eighteen essays cover the following topics: power, fame, equality, lying, toleration, travel, virtue, collective responsibility, the wheel of fortune, betrayal, violence, boredom, freedom, luxury, God, respect for nature, superstition, and national stereotypes.

Buy Freedom, Fame, Lying and Betrayal by Leszek Kolakowski from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780813337081
ISBN-10: 0813337089
Format: Paperback
(191mm x 140mm x mm)
Pages: 160
Imprint: Westview Press Inc
Publish Date: 13-Aug-1999
Country of Publication: United States

Other Editions - Freedom, Fame, Lying and Betrayal by Leszek Kolakowski

Book Reviews - Freedom, Fame, Lying and Betrayal by Leszek Kolakowski

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Freedom, Fame, Lying and Betrayal book by Leszek Kolakowski and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - Leszek Kolakowski

Leszek Kolakowski is currently senior research fellow at All Souls College, Oxford. He has also taught at the University of Chicago, McGill University, UC Berkeley, and Yale University. He is the author of numerous books, including his masterpiece and magnum opus Main Currents of Marxism, published in three volumes in the 1970s and recently reissued in a single volume by Norton. He is the recipient of many major international awards, including the Jerusalem Prize for the Freedom of the Individual in Society (2007), the Library of Congress John W. Kluge Prize in the Human Sciences awarded for lifetime achievement in the humanistic and social sciences (2004), a MacArthur ("genius") Fellowship (1983) as well as the German Booksellers Peace Prize (1977), the Erasmus Prize (1980) and the Veillon Foundation European Prize for the Essay (1980). He is a Fellow of the British Academy, a fellow of the Academie Universelle des Cultures, and a Foreign Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. He lives in Oxford, England.

Books By Leszek Kolakowski

Is God Happy? by Leszek Kolakowski
Hardback, February 2013
Why is There Something Rather Than Nothing? by Leszek Kolakowski
Paperback, April 2008
Main Currents of Marxism by Leszek Kolakowski
Paperback, January 2008
Presence of Myth by Leszek Kolakowski
Paperback, November 2001