Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Postmodern Jewish thinkers understand their Jewishness differently, but they all share a fidelity to what they call the "Torah" and to communal practices of reading and social action that have their bases in rabbinic interpretations of biblical narrative, law, and belief. Thus, postmodern Jewish thinking is thinking about God, Jews, and the world--with the texts of the Torah--in the company of fellow seekers and believers. It utilizes the tools of philosophy, but without their modern premises. Moreover, this form of Jewish thinking provides resources for philosophically disciplined readings of scripture by Jews, Christians, and Moslems seeking alternatives to the reductive discourses of secular academia, on the one hand, and to antimodern religious fundamentalisms, on the other. Postmodern Jewish Philosophy aims to utilize rabbinic modes of thinking to provide a model for ethical and religious thought in the twenty-first century, one which moves beyond the dichotomy of relativism and imperialism and is simultaneously definite and pluralistic.In Reasoning After Revelation: Dialogues in Postmodern Jewish Philosophy, three preeminent Jewish scholars debate the form and meaning of Postmodern Jewish Philosophy after the failures of the great secular ideologies of modern western civilization. Emulating the methods as well as the premises of Talmudic argumentation, the authors present their responses as dialogues joined by a common love of the rabbinic tradition of commentary and interpretation of the Bible. The composers, Peter Ochs, Robert Gibbs, and Steven Kepnes, contemplate where Judaism has been--and where it is headed: on what basis will modern Jews now reason about the meaning of Jewish existence and the relevance of age-old Biblical traditions to the moral and social crises of the twenty-first century? The dialogues are further enriched by a set of responses from leading Jewish philosophers: Elliot R. Wolfson, Edith Wyschogrod, Almut Sh. Bruckstein, Yudit Kornberg Greenberg, and Susan E. Shapiro.

Buy Reasoning After Revelation book by Steven Kepnes from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780813365657
ISBN-10: 0813365651
Format: Paperback
(229mm x 152mm x 11mm)
Pages: 165
Imprint: Westview Press Inc
Publisher: The Perseus Books Group
Publish Date: 8-Dec-2000
Country of Publication: United States

Reviews

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Reasoning After Revelation book by Steven Kepnes and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review


Author Biography - Steven Kepnes

h and Christian theologies. Robert Gibbs teaches philosophy at the University of Toronto. He is the author of Correlations in Rosenzweig and Levinas, and most recently of Why Ethics: Signs of Responsibilities. His work addresses Jewish Philosophy in the tradition of Hermann Cohen, Franz Rosenzweig, Martin Buber, and Emmanuel Levinas and engages both contemporary Continental thought and American pragmatism.

Books By Author Steven Kepnes

Future of Jewish Theology by Steven Kepnes

The Future of Jewish Theology

Paperback, December 2012
$49.46
Jewish Liturgical Reasoning by Steven Kepnes

Jewish Liturgical Reasoning

Hardback, November 2007
$58.46
Interpreting Judaism in a Postmodern Age by Steven Kepnes

Interpreting Judaism in a Postmodern Age

Paperback, November 1995
$43.19