1300 36 33 32

A first-hand account that gives special attention to the author's experience among pre-dominantly non-Jewish partisans in Soviet Russia, where he confronted anti-Semitism while facing a common enemy. In this candid memoir, Harold Zissman examines Jewish existence in prewar and wartime Poland. Born into an observant family, he begins by recalling his youth in the Polish town of Ostrow-Mazowieck, near the German border. It is the 1930s, a time of childhood nostalgia darkened by ominous anti-Semitic uprisings and government indifference. In lean and concise prose, Zissman relives the German invasion of Poland and his own incarceration in a forced labor camp. He recalls life in the Derechin ghetto, where every day brought brutal Nazi persecution and the constant threat of slaughter. Finally, he tells of escape to Russia, where he fought alongside Soviet partisans - only to face prejudice from his comrades. In the tradition of Elie Wiesel and Primo Levi, Zissman probes the Nazi impact on Jewish notions of identity and community during and after the Holocaust. Few books offer such detailed insights into the complexity, peril, and volatility of life as a Jew among non-Jewish Soviet partisans, even while battling a common enemy.

Buy Warriors book by Harold Zissman from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780815608394
ISBN-10: 081560839X
Format: Paperback
(229mm x 152mm x 15mm)
Pages: 272
Imprint: Syracuse University Press
Publisher: Syracuse University Press
Publish Date: 1-Nov-2005
Country of Publication: United States

Reviews

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Warriors book by Harold Zissman and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write Review


Author Biography - Harold Zissman

Harold Zissman has lectured about his experiences during the Holocaust at a number of schools and organizations across the country. This is his first book.