Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Get Latest Book News + FREE Shipping. Subscribe to the Boomerang Books Bulletin eNewsletter right now!

Description - Walking the Wrack Line by Barbara Hurd

This book contains evocative nature writing in the tradition of Terry Tempest Williams and Gretel Ehrlich. Barbara Hurd continues to give nature writing a human dimension in this final volume of her trilogy that began with "Stirring the Mud" and "Entering the Stone". With prose both eloquent and wise, she examines what washes ashore, from the angel wing shells to broken oars. Even a merman appears in this brilliant collection that throws light on the mysterious and the overlooked.Writing from beaches as far-flung as Morocco, St. Croix, or Alaska, and as familiar as California and Cape Cod, she helps us see beauty in the gruesome feeding process of the moon snail. She holds up an encrusted, still-sealed message bottle to make tangible the emotional divide between mother and daughter. She considers a chunk of sea glass and the possibilities of transformation.The book began on a beach, Hurd says, "with the realization that a lot of what I care about survives in spite of - perhaps because of - having been broken or lost for a while in backward drift. Picking up egg cases, stones, shells, I kept turning them over - in my hands and in my mind." Each chapter starts with close attention to an object - a shell fragment of a pelican egg, or perhaps a jellyfish - but then widens into larger concerns: the persistence of habits, desire, disappointments, the lie of the perfectly preserved, the pleasures of aversions, transformations, and a phenomenon from physics known as the strange attractor.

Buy Walking the Wrack Line by Barbara Hurd from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780820331027
ISBN-10: 0820331023
Format: Hardback
(210mm x 140mm x mm)
Pages: 160
Imprint: University of Georgia Press
Publisher: University of Georgia Press
Publish Date: 1-Jun-2008
Country of Publication: United States

Book Reviews - Walking the Wrack Line by Barbara Hurd

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Walking the Wrack Line book by Barbara Hurd and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review


Author Biography - Barbara Hurd

Barbara Hurd is the author of "Stirring the Mud," "Entering the Stone," and a collection of poetry, "The Singer's Temple." Her work has appeared in "Best American Essays," "Yale Review," "Georgia Review," "Nimrod," "New Letters," and "Audubon." Hurd teaches creative writing at Frostburg State University, where she has held the Elkins Professorship, and at the Stonecoast MFA program at the University of Southern Maine.

Books By Barbara Hurd

Listening to the Savage by Barbara Hurd
Hardback, January 2016
$40.86
Entering the Stone by Barbara Hurd
Paperback, June 2008
$32.67
Stirring the Mud by Barbara Hurd
Paperback, June 2008
$32.67