Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Get Latest Book News + FREE Shipping. Subscribe to the Boomerang Books Bulletin eNewsletter right now!

Description - Beethoven's Symphonies Five and Seven by David Hurwitz

This book aids the listener in getting beneath the surface of Beethoven's two beloved symphonies.Composers often write pieces in highly contrasting moods in very close proximity. But no composer took this process further than Beethoven. His famous "Fifth Symphony", with an opening familiar to anyone, became the standard for the Romantic, tragedy to triumph, 'victory symphony'. The sunny Sixth however represents a high-water mark of relaxed lyricism. On a superficial listening, they couldn't sound more different from one another. Yet by examining them more closely it is revealed that they have more in common than their emotional trajectories might suggest.This book aids the listener in getting beneath the surface of these two beloved symphonies, revealing that however disparate the expressive message, the language and style remain Beethoven's - a symphonic voice as powerful in struggle and victory as in relaxation and meditation."Magnum Opus" is a series for anyone seeking a greater familiarity with the cornerstones of Western Classical Music - operatic, choral and symphonic. Always passionate, down-to-earth, and authoritative on the works and their creators, "Magnum Opus" is an indispensable resource for anyone's musical library and the perfect gift for the music-lover in your life.

Buy Beethoven's Symphonies Five and Seven by David Hurwitz from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780826429445
ISBN-10: 0826429440
Format: Paperback
(198mm x 129mm x mm)
Pages: 144
Imprint: Continuum International Publishing Group Ltd.
Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Publish Date: 1-Dec-2008
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Book Reviews - Beethoven's Symphonies Five and Seven by David Hurwitz

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Beethoven's Symphonies Five and Seven book by David Hurwitz and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - David Hurwitz

David Hurwitz has been writing about classical music for more than twenty years. As a critic and commentator, his articles and essays have appeared in such well-known publications as High Fidelity, the New York Observer, Musical America, and numerous other magazines and newspapers, both in the U.S. and abroad. Founder and executive editor of, the first online classical music review magazine, Hurwitz is also the author of eight books on subjects ranging from Haydn and Mozart to Mahler Dvorak, Sibelius and Shostakovich. He lives in New York.

Books By David Hurwitz

Brahms's Symphonies by David Hurwitz
Paperback, March 2009
Sibelius Orchestral Works by David Hurwitz
Paperback, January 2007
Yoga Beneath the Surface by David Hurwitz
Paperback, June 2006