Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

The book of Jonah is mostly remembered for its oddity--a runaway prophet swallowed by a whale! But there must be more to the book than that. And indeed there is. For one thing, it is a book artfully constructed, with one chapter devoted to a psalm. It is a book that will reward careful reading and meditation. But more than that, in the drama of Jonah we find charted the course not just of this angular prophet but of Isreal's attitude toward its most despised neighbor in the Mediterranean world. Jonah refuses to answer God's call to go and proclaim judgement because he knows God is just the kind of God who respond in mercy and grace should the Assyrians repent. Jonah will have no part of it--until he is compelled. And even then he pitties himself. The irony of this prophet's story is amusing--but it reaches out and touches us where we are today. Rosemary Nixon's exposition explores the book in its own right and helps us make the connections with our veiw of God and his world today.

Buy The Message of Jonah book by Rosemary Nixon from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780830824267
ISBN-10: 083082426X
Format: Paperback / softback
(226mm x 129mm x 17mm)
Imprint: Inter-Varsity Press,US
Publisher: InterVarsity Press
Publish Date: 11-Jul-2003
Country of Publication: United States


» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Message of Jonah book by Rosemary Nixon and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Books By Author Rosemary Nixon

Are You Ready to Be Lucky? by Rosemary Nixon

Are You Ready to Be Lucky?

Paperback / softback, August 2013
New Matrix Pre-intermediate: Workbook by Rosemary Nixon

New Matrix Pre-intermediate: Workbook

Paperback, September 2007
PET Masterclass: Teacher's Book by Rosemary Nixon

PET Masterclass: Teacher's Book

Paperback, November 2003