Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - Mr Fortune's Maggot by Sylvia Townsend Warner

The Reverend Timothy Fortune, ex-clerk of the Hornsey Branch of Lloyds Bank, has spent ten years as a South Seas Island missionary when a 'maggot' impels him to embark on what he describes as a 'sort of pious escapade' - an assignment to the even more remote island of Fanua, where a white man is a rarity.Mr Fortune is a good man, humble, earnest - he wishes to bring the joys of Christianity to the innocent heathen. But in his three years on Fanua he makes only one convert - the boy Lueli, who loves him. This love, and the sensuous freedom of the islanders produces in Mr Fortune a change of heart which is shattering...Beautifully imagined, the paradise island and its people are as vivid as a Gauguin painting. Told with the driest of wise humour, touching and droll by turns, its theme - that we can never love anything without messing it about - is only one of the delights of this enchanting book.

Buy Mr Fortune's Maggot by Sylvia Townsend Warner from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780860680437
ISBN-10: 0860680436
Format: Paperback
(198mm x 126mm x 12mm)
Pages: 256
Imprint: Virago Press Ltd
Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
Publish Date: 12-Jan-1984
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Book Reviews - Mr Fortune's Maggot by Sylvia Townsend Warner

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Mr Fortune's Maggot book by Sylvia Townsend Warner and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - Sylvia Townsend Warner

Born in Harrow (1893-1978), Sylvia Townsend Warner published seven novels, four volumes of poetry, a volume of essays and eight volumes of short stories. She lived most of her adult life with her close companion Valentine Ackland in Dorset and Norfolk.

Books By Sylvia Townsend Warner

Corner That Held Them by Sylvia Townsend Warner
Paperback, March 2012
Lolly Willowes by Sylvia Townsend Warner
Paperback, March 2012
Mr. Fortune by Sylvia Townsend Warner
Paperback, August 2011
Stranger With a Bag by Sylvia Townsend Warner
Paperback, July 2011