1300 36 33 32

In this first play from the award-winning memoirist and poet Nick Flynn, four strangers meet during a blackout on a New York City sidewalk. Gideon finds himself locked out of his apartment, stranded on the street with nothing but a television and the company of three individuals, each mysterious in their own way: the spectre-like Alice, ringleader of the neighbourhood; Esra, a fifteen-year-old girl whose mother is MIA - again; and Ivan, a stranded businessman trying to make his way home. As Gideon makes futile attempts to break into an apartment that may or may not be his, an unsettling connection between Ivan and Esra develops while Alice and Gideon look on helplessly. Unable to make sense of their predicament, let alone alter it, the four float aimlessly in and out of seeming reality only to find themselves more lost when the electricity finally comes back on.Once again exploring the tenuous membrane that separates comfortable, everyday existence from the desperate margins of society, Flynn portrays an urban dystopia disturbingly similar to our own world while poignantly tapping into the loneliness and peril of city life.

Buy Alice Invents a Little Game and Alice Always Wins book by Nick Flynn from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780865479852
ISBN-10: 0865479852
Format: Paperback
(210mm x 140mm x 3mm)
Pages: 96
Imprint: North Point Press
Publisher: North Point Press
Publish Date: 25-Jun-2010
Country of Publication: United States


» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Alice Invents a Little Game and Alice Always Wins book by Nick Flynn and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write Review

Author Biography - Nick Flynn

NICK FLYNN's work which includes Another Bullshit Night in Suck City, winner of the PEN/Martha Albrand Award for Memoir, and the poetry collections Blind Huber and Some Ether has been translated into thirteen languages.


Books By Author Nick Flynn

2017 Nowhere Print Annual by Nick Flynn

2017 Nowhere Print Annual

Paperback / softback, December 2016
Guernica by Nick Flynn


Paperback, June 2016
Marilyn Minter - Pretty/Dirty by Nick Flynn

Marilyn Minter - Pretty/Dirty

Hardback, April 2015
Wound by Nick Flynn

The Wound

Paperback, February 2015