1300 36 33 32

In the 1978 novel, "The Good Old Boys", Hewey Calloway is a "fiddle-footed" cowboy, roaming from job to job and facing an uncertain future as he grows older. His brother, Walter, married and settled down to hard-scrabble farming, wants Huey to do the same. Eve, Walter's wife, clearly disapproves of Hewey and fears his influence on her two sons, who idolize their uncle. Snort Yarnell, another cowboy, wants Hewey to join him in driving horses to Southwest Texas, work in Mexico, and live free. And then there's Spring Renfro, who loves Hewey and wants a home of her own. In the end, even for Spring, Hewey can't bring himself to abandon the free life. Actor/director Tommy Lee Jones made a memorable TV movie from the book. Twenty years later, in this sequel, Elmer Kelton brought Hewey back, older, wiser, and badly banged up trying to break a renegade bronc. His wandering days are over because of his injuries, because of fences that cut up the range, because of trucks and automobiles. But how will Hewey handle the new circumstances of his life? And how will Spring react to his return? Readers who fell in love with Hewey will delight in seeing him back and following his new and different adventures.

Buy Smiling Country book by Elmer Kelton from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780875653280
ISBN-10: 0875653286
Format: Hardback
(229mm x 152mm x 26mm)
Pages: 272
Imprint: Texas Christian University Press,U.S.
Publisher: Texas Christian University Press,U.S.
Publish Date: 15-Nov-2006
Country of Publication: United States


» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Smiling Country book by Elmer Kelton and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write Review

Author Biography - Elmer Kelton

ELMER KELTON is the author of over forty novels, published over the last fifty years, all dealing with Texas and the West.

Books By Author Elmer Kelton

After the Bugles and Llano River by Elmer Kelton

After the Bugles and Llano River

Paperback, April 2017
Good Old Boys and the Smiling Country by Elmer Kelton

The Good Old Boys and the Smiling Country

Paperback / softback, November 2016
Badger Boy and the Way of the Coyote by Elmer Kelton

Badger Boy and the Way of the Coyote

Paperback / softback, May 2015
Readwest by Elmer Kelton


Paperback / softback, July 2014