Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - Edward Weston: Tthe Flame of Recognition by Edward Weston

Integrating revealing excerpts from Edward Weston's diaries and letters with some of his most exquisite photographs, Nancy Newhall sheds light on Weston's own attempts to "understand the range flashes of vision that came through his camera". Edward Weston, born in 1886, made his first photographs in 1902 with a Kodak Bull's Eye No 2 camera given to him by his father. He opened his own portrait studio in 1911, but did not fully come into his own as an artist until his 1922 photographs of the Armco Steel Mill. Working in Mexico and California in the 1920s he continued to support himself with portrait work while turning increasingly to subjects of his own choosing. From 1937 to 1939 he travelled and photographed throughout the American West on a Guggenheim Fellowship. In 1948 Weston made his last photograph - he had been stricken with Parkinson's disease several years earlier. On 1st January 1958 he died at his home in Cornel.

Buy Edward Weston: Tthe Flame of Recognition by Edward Weston from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780893815332
ISBN-10: 0893815330
Format: Paperback
(248mm x 213mm x 8mm)
Pages: 104
Imprint: Aperture
Publisher: Aperture
Publish Date: 1-Apr-1993
Country of Publication: United States

Book Reviews - Edward Weston: Tthe Flame of Recognition by Edward Weston

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Edward Weston: Tthe Flame of Recognition book by Edward Weston and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Books By Edward Weston

Edward Weston by Edward Weston
Hardback, April 2015
Edward Weston's Book of Nudes by Edward Weston
Hardback, November 2007
Edward Weston Nudes by Edward Weston
Paperback, September 1996
Daybooks of Edward Weston by Edward Weston
Paperback, July 1991