Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Get Latest Book News + FREE Shipping. Subscribe to the Boomerang Books Bulletin eNewsletter right now!

Description - Collected Nonfiction, Volume 2 by Mark Twain

The second of two hardcover volumes collecting the major nonfiction by the "father of American literature," includingexcerpts from The Innocents Abroad, Roughing It, A Tramp Abroad, andLife on the Mississippi. Twain s playful exuberance and remarkable storytelling gifts are on full display as he regales readers with real-life adventures in these rollicking, shrewd, and hilarious autobiographical works. In these pages, we follow him through his stint as a fledgling reporter out West to his attempt to navigate a steamboat on the Mississippi River, and all during his experiences as an irreverent and skeptical traveler through Europe and the Holy Land. Gleefully iconoclastic, whether he is puncturing the pretensions of others or aiming his satirical barbs squarely at himself, Twain also proves to be deeply compassionate, as fierce in his condemnation of injustice as he is skillful in mining the humor in human folly. Long hailed as the Lincoln of our literature, Twain harbored as rich and fertile a blend of contradictions as the dynamic nation he came to embody and define."

Buy Collected Nonfiction, Volume 2 by Mark Twain from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9781101907726
ISBN-10: 110190772X
Format: Hardback
(211mm x 137mm x 43mm)
Imprint: Everyman's Library
Publisher: Everyman's Library
Publish Date: 15-Nov-2016
Country of Publication: United States

Book Reviews - Collected Nonfiction, Volume 2 by Mark Twain

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Collected Nonfiction, Volume 2 book by Mark Twain and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - Mark Twain

MARK TWAIN was born in Missouri in 1835 and died in Connecticut in 1910. RICHARD RUSSO is the author of eight novels, two collections of stories, and a memoir. His novel, Nobody's Fool, was made into a movie staring Paul Newman. In 2002 he received the Pulitzer Prize for Empire Falls, which was adapted to a multiple-award-winning HBO mini-series.

Books By Mark Twain

Tom Sawyer, Detective and Tom Sawyer Abroad by Mark Twain
Paperback, January 2018
Adventures of Huckleberry Finn by Mark Twain
Paperback, January 2018
Purloining Of Prince Oleomargarine by Mark Twain
Hardback, September 2017