1300 36 33 32

Since its establishment in 1919, the O. Henry Prize stories collection has offered an exciting selection of the best stories published in hundreds of literary magazines every year. Such classic works of American literature as Ernest Hemingway's "The Killers "(1927); William Faulkner's "Barn Burning "(1939); Carson McCuller's "A Tree. A Rock. A Cloud "(1943); Shirley Jackson's "The Lottery" (1949); J.D. Salinger's "For Esme with Love and Squalor "(1963); John Cheever's "The Country Husband" (1956); and Flannery O'Conner's "Everything that Rises Must Converge" (1963) all were O. Henry Prize stories. An accomplished new series editor--novelist and short story writer Laura Furman--has read more than a thousand stories to identify the 20 winners, each one a pleasure to read today, each one a potential classic. The O. Henry Prize Stories 2003 also contains brief essays from each of the three distinguished judges on their favorite story, and comments from the prize-winning writers on what inspired their stories. There is nothing like the ever rich, surprising, and original O. Henry collection for enjoying the contemporary short story. "The Thing in the Forest" A. S. Byatt "The Shell Collector" Anthony Doerr "Burn Your Maps" Robyn Jay Leff "Lush " Bradford Morrow "God's Goodness" Marjorie Kemper "Bleed Blue in Indonesia" Adam Desnoyers "The Story" Edith Pearlman "Swept Away" T. Coraghessan Boyle "Meanwhile" Ann Harleman "Three Days. A Month. More." Douglas Light "The High Road" Joan Silber "Election Eve" Evan S. Connell "Irish Girl" Tim Johnston "What Went Wrong" Tim O'Brien "The American Embassy" Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie "Kissing" William Kittredge "Sacred Statues" William Trevor "Two Words" Molly Giles "Fathers" Alice Munro "Train Dreams" Denis Johnson

Buy O Henry Prize Stories book by Laura Furman from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9781400031313
ISBN-10: 1400031311
Format: Paperback
(205mm x 130mm x 19mm)
Pages: 464
Imprint: Random House Inc
Publisher: Random House USA Inc
Publish Date: 26-Mar-2004
Country of Publication: United States


» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about O Henry Prize Stories book by Laura Furman and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write Review

Author Biography - Laura Furman

Laura Furman's work has appeared in "The New Yorker," "Vanity Fair," "Ploughshares," "The Yale Review," and other magazines. She is the founding editor of the highly regarded "American Short Fiction" (three-time finalist for the American Magazine Award). A professor of English at the University of Texas at Austin, she teaches in the graduate James A. Michener Center for writers. She lives in Austin.

Books By Author Laura Furman

O. Henry Prize Stories by Laura Furman

O. Henry Prize Stories

Paperback, October 2015
Pen/O. Henry Prize Stories by Laura Furman

The Pen/O. Henry Prize Stories

Paperback, May 2012
Mother Who Stayed by Laura Furman

The Mother Who Stayed

Paperback / softback, February 2011
Shadow Line by Laura Furman

The Shadow Line

Paperback / softback, June 2000