Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Get Latest Book News + FREE Shipping. Subscribe to the Boomerang Books Bulletin eNewsletter right now!

Description - How to Read a Shakespeare Play by David Bevington

This clear and succinct book is designed for general readers who want to know how to go about reading Shakespeare s works for pleasure. Encourages readers to approach Shakespeare's works aggressively, interactively, and questioningly Focuses on six popular Shakespeare plays - A Midsummer Night s Dream, Romeo and Juliet, Henry IV Part I, Hamlet, King Lear and The Tempest Recommends the best editions, recordings and DVDs / videos of these plays Discusses the production of the plays on stage and screen Introduces readers to different genres in Shakespeare romantic comedy, English history, tragedy and romance Avoids jargon and abstract literary theory

Buy How to Read a Shakespeare Play by David Bevington from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9781405113960
ISBN-10: 1405113960
Format: Paperback
(227mm x 163mm x 10mm)
Pages: 184
Imprint: Blackwell Publishing Ltd
Publisher: John Wiley and Sons Ltd
Publish Date: 2-Jun-2006
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Other Editions - How to Read a Shakespeare Play by David Bevington

Book Reviews - How to Read a Shakespeare Play by David Bevington

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about How to Read a Shakespeare Play book by David Bevington and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - David Bevington

David Bevington is Professor Emeritus at the University of Chicago. His recent publications include Shakespeare: The Seven Ages of Human Experience (second edition, 2005) and Shakespeare: Script, Stage, Screen (with Anne Marie Welsh and Michael L. Greenwald, 2006). He has also edited the Bantam Shakespeare in 29 volumes (currently being reedited), The Complete Works of Shakespeare (fifth edition, 2003), and a number of individual Shakespeare plays including Antony and Cleopatra, Henry IV, Part I, and Troilus and Cressida.

Books By David Bevington

Henry IV by David Bevington
Paperback, November 2016
Troilus and Cressida by David Bevington
Hardback, October 2015
Lady'S Trial by David Bevington
Paperback, September 2015
Murder Most Foul by David Bevington
Paperback, January 2014