Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Wishing all of our customers a very Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year - The Team at Boomerang Books

Description - Truth by Jose Medina

Setting the stage with selections from Nietzsche and James, this reader on truth puts in conversation some of the main philosophical figures from the twentieth century in the analytic, continental, and pragmatist traditions. The volume's central focus is the value or normativity of truth, explored by constructing dialogues between different schools of thought. Topics include the normative relation between truth and subjectivity, consensus, art, testimony, power, and critique. Authors include Kierkegaard, Heidegger, Merleau-Ponty, Wittgenstein, Levinas, Arendt, Putnam, Foucault, Rorty, Davidson, Habermas, McDowell, Alcoff, and Derrida. This volume not only captures the most distinctive aspects of the debates on truth in the twentieth century, but also advances the philosophical discussion of truth into the twenty-first.

Buy Truth by Jose Medina from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9781405115490
ISBN-10: 1405115491
Format: Hardback
(252mm x 174mm x 34mm)
Pages: 392
Imprint: Blackwell Publishing Ltd
Publisher: John Wiley and Sons Ltd
Publish Date: 15-Dec-2004
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Other Editions - Truth by Jose Medina

Book Reviews - Truth by Jose Medina

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Truth book by Jose Medina and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - Jose Medina

Jose Medina is Assistant Professor of Philosophy at Vanderbilt University. He is author of Speaking from Elsewhere: A New Contextualist Perspective on Meaning, Identity, and Discursive Agency (2005) and The Unity of Wittgenstein's Philosophy (2002). David Wood is Professor of Philosophy at Vanderbilt University, and Honorary Professor at the University of Warwick. His previous books include The Step Back: Ethics and Politics after Deconstruction (2005), Thinking After Heidegger (Blackwell, 2002), The Deconstruction of Time (2001), Derrida: A Critical Reader (Blackwell, 1992), and Philosophy at the Limit (1990).

Books By Jose Medina

Routledge Handbook of Epistemic Injustice by Jose Medina
Hardback, March 2017
Epistemology of Resistance by Jose Medina
Hardback, November 2012
Truth by Jose Medina
Paperback, December 2004