1300 36 33 32

A gripping World War II adventure from War Horse author and former Children's Laureate, Michael Morpurgo. Jo did not stop until he'd shut the door behind him and even then his heart could not stop pounding in his ears. Jo finds out that Jewish children are being smuggled away from the Nazis over the mountains near his village. All goes to plan until German soldiers start patrolling the mountains, and Jo realises the children are trapped. Jo'EURO(t)s slightest mistake could have devastating consequences ...Shortlisted for the Carnegie Medal and Guardian Fiction award In the tradition of Goodnight Mr Tom, Carrie's War, The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas and perfect for fans of The Bone Sparrow, Waiting for Anya is a novel that takes children to the heart of a tumultuous period in history. It will provide a wider context for kids who have studied the Holocaust and The Diary of Anne Frank. Other Michael Morpurgo titles you may enjoy: The Eagle in the Snow Listen to the Moon A Twist of Gold Private Peaceful ------ Former Children's Laureate Michael Morpurgo needs no introduction. He is one of the most successful children's authors in the country, loved by children, teachers and parents alike. Michael has written more than forty books for children including the global hit War Horse, which was made into a Hollywood film by Steven Spielberg in 2011. Several of his other stories have been adapted for screen and stage, including My Friend Walter, Why the Whales Came and Kensuke's Kingdom. Michael has won the Whitbread Award, the Smarties Award, the Circle of Gold Award, the Children's Book Award and has been short-listed for the Carnegie Medal four times. He started the charity Farms for City Children in 1976 with his wife, Clare, aimed at relieving the "poverty of experience" many young children feel in inner city and urban areas. Michael is also a patron of over a dozen other charities. Living in Devon, listening to Mozart and working with children have provided Michael with the ideas and incentive to write his stories. He spends half his life mucking out sheds with the children, feeding sheep or milking cows; the other half he spends dreaming up and writing stories for children. "For me, the greater part of writing is daydreaming, dreaming the dream of my story until it hatches out - the writing down of it I always find hard. But I love finishing it, then holding the book in my hand and sharing my dream with my readers." Michael received an OBE in December 2006 for his services to literature.

Buy Waiting for Anya book by Michael Morpurgo from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9781405229272
ISBN-10: 1405229276
Format: Paperback
(198mm x 129mm x 11mm)
Pages: 192
Imprint: Egmont Books Ltd
Publisher: Egmont UK Ltd
Publish Date: 5-Feb-2007
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Reviews

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Waiting for Anya book by Michael Morpurgo and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write Review


Author Biography - Michael Morpurgo

Michael Morpurgo: The Master Storyteller. Former Children's Laureate Michael Morpurgo needs no introduction. One of the most successful children's authors in the country, and loved by children, teachers and parents alike. Michael has written more than forty books and won the Whitbread Award, the Smarties Award, the Circle of Gold Award, the Children's Book Award and has been short-listed for the Carnegie Medal four times. His novels have been adapted for film (My Friend Walter, Why the Whales Came) and stage (most recently, Kensuke's Kingdom for the Polka Theatre and Why the Whales Came by for Alibi.)

Books By Author Michael Morpurgo

Fox and the Ghost King by Michael Morpurgo

The Fox and the Ghost King

Paperback, June 2017
$11.69
Listen to the Moon by Michael Morpurgo

Listen to the Moon

Hardback, January 2017
$34.24
Eagle in the Snow by Michael Morpurgo

An Eagle in the Snow

Hardback, January 2017
$29.61
Coming Home by Michael Morpurgo

Coming Home

Paperback, November 2016
$12.76