1300 36 33 32

Arthur Machen (1863-1947) was a leading Welsh author. He is best known for his influential supernatural, fantasy, and horror fiction. He also is well known for his leading role in creating the legend of the Angels of Mons. At the age of eleven, he boarded at Hereford Cathedral School, where he received an excellent classical education. Family poverty ruled out attendance at university. Around 1890 Machen began to publish in literary magazines, writing stories influenced by the works of Robert Louis Stevenson, some of which used gothic or fantastic themes. This led to his first major success, The Great God Pan (1894), which was part of the growing aesthetic movement of the time. Machen's story was widely denounced for its sexual and horrific content and subsequently sold well, going into a second edition. Machen next produced The Three Impostors, a novel composed of a number of interwoven tales, in 1895. The novel and the stories within it were eventually to be regarded as among Machen's best works.

Buy Great God Pan (Dodo Press) book by Arthur Machen from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9781406545531
ISBN-10: 1406545538
Format: Paperback / softback
(229mm x 152mm x 4mm)
Pages: 60
Imprint: Dodo Press
Publisher: Dodo Press
Publish Date: 13-Jul-2007
Country of Publication: United Kingdom


» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Great God Pan (Dodo Press) book by Arthur Machen and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write Review

Books By Author Arthur Machen

Three Imposters by Arthur Machen

The Three Imposters

Paperback, March 2014
White People and Other Weird Stories by Arthur Machen

The White People and Other Weird Stories

Paperback, March 2012
Great God Pan and Other Weird Stories by Arthur Machen

The Great God Pan and Other Weird Stories

Paperback / softback, February 2011
Hill of Dreams by Arthur Machen

The Hill of Dreams

Paperback, June 2010