Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

James Oliver Curwood, (1878-1927), was an American novelist and conservationist. He left high school without graduating but was able to pass the entrance exams to the University of Michigan where he studied journalism. In 1900, he sold his first story while working for the Detroit News-Tribune. By 1909 he had saved enough money to travel to the Canadian northwest, a trip that provided the inspiration for his wilderness adventure stories. The success of his novels afforded him the opportunity to return to the Yukon and Alaska for several months each year that allowed him to write more than thirty such books. By 1922, his writings had made him a very wealthy man and he fulfilled a childhood fantasy by building Curwood Castle in Owosso. An advocate of environmentalism, he was appointed to the Michigan Conservation Commission in 1926. His works include: The Courage of Captain Plum (1908), The Great Lakes (1909), The Danger Trail (1910), The Flower of the North (1912), Kazan (1914), The Hunted Woman (1916), Nomad of the North (1919) and The Valley of Silent Men (1920).

Buy The Golden Snare (Dodo Press) book by James Oliver Curwood from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9781406581706
ISBN-10: 1406581704
Format: Paperback / softback
(229mm x 152mm x 9mm)
Pages: 144
Imprint: Dodo Press
Publisher: Dodo Press
Publish Date: 7-Dec-2007
Country of Publication: United Kingdom


» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Golden Snare (Dodo Press) book by James Oliver Curwood and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Books By Author James Oliver Curwood

Mounted Police Novels by James Oliver Curwood

The Mounted Police Novels

Hardback, June 2010
Back to God's Country and Other Stories (Dodo Press) by James Oliver Curwood

Back to God's Country and Other Stories (Dodo Press)

Paperback / softback, October 2008
Country Beyond by James Oliver Curwood

The Country Beyond

Paperback / softback, April 2008
Isobel by James Oliver Curwood


Paperback / softback, December 2007