We are open! For operations and delivery updates due to COVID-19. (click here)
0

Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - Shtum by Jem Lester

Ben Jewell has hit breaking point.

His ten-year-old son, Jonah, has never spoken. So when Ben and Jonah are forced to move in with Ben's elderly father, three generations of men - one who can't talk; two who won't - are thrown together.

As Ben battles single fatherhood, a string of well-meaning social workers and his own demons, he learns some difficult home truths.

Jonah, blissful in his innocence, becomes the prism through which all the complicated strands of personal identity, family history and misunderstanding are finally untangled.

Perfect for fans of David Nicholls, THE SHOCK OF THE FALL and THE CURIOUS INCIDENT OF THE DOG IN THE NIGHT-TIME.

Buy Shtum by Jem Lester from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9781409162971
ISBN-10: 1409162974
Format: Paperback / softback
(156mm x 223mm x 24mm)
Pages: 320
Imprint: Orion (an Imprint of The Orion Publishing Group Ltd )
Publisher: Orion Publishing Co
Publish Date: 7-Apr-2016
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Book Reviews - Shtum by Jem Lester

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Shtum book by Jem Lester and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)


Author Biography - Jem Lester

Jem Lester was a journalist for nine years and saw the Berlin Wall fall in 1989 - and though there, he denies personal responsibility. He was also the last journalist to interview the legendary Fred Zinnemann, before the director died. He denies responsibility for that too. He taught English and Media studies at secondary schools for nine years. Jem has two children, one of whom is profoundly autistic, and for them he accepts total responsibility. He lives in London with his partner and her two children.Jem's first novel, SHTUM, won the 2013 PFD/City University Prize for Fiction.Follow Jem on Twitter @JemLester

A Preview for this title is currently not available.