Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - Frozen by Robin Wasserman

The title of this book is Frozen and is written by author Robin Wasserman. The book Frozen is published by Simon & Schuster. The ISBN of this book is 9781442420380 and the format is Paperback. The publisher has not provided a book description for Frozen by Robin Wasserman.

Book Details

ISBN: 9781442420380
ISBN-10: 1442420383
Format: Paperback
(210mm x 139mm x 26mm)
Imprint: Simon Pulse
Publisher: Simon & Schuster
Publish Date: 25-Oct-2011
Country of Publication: United States

Other Editions - Frozen by Robin Wasserman

Book Reviews - Frozen by Robin Wasserman

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Frozen book by Robin Wasserman and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Book Review: Frozen by Robin Wasserman - Reviewed by (19 Nov 2011)

Lia Kahn died in a car accident. But Lia Kahn is still alive. She has to be one or the other, and after waking up, she's convinced of the latter. She's still the same Lia, albeit slightly less mortal and slightly more mechanical. But as her family and friends tiptoe around her at best, and shun her at worst, she has to consider that she isn't the same at all.

I began flicking through a little of Frozen just after it arrived, without the intention of actually starting for a while yet, but Lia's voice captured my interest immediately and her situation -- paralysed consciousness, separate from all of her senses -- tugged on my heartstrings.

Frozen was an intensely engaging science fiction novel. I can best describe it as M. T. Anderson's Feed meets The Adoration Of Jenna Fox. Frozen sets the scene for this series, introducing Lia and detailing her slow journey to accepting her new self. But Frozen, for this very character-driven introduction, is anything but dull.

Lia was the perfect one, before. Gorgeous, popular, athletic, and with a privileged family who (mostly) love her. She loses all of that when she's in a car crash and saved by the Download. She wonders after the procedure if she'd rather be dead or if she already is. Her old personality isn't the most likable, but it's so easy to sympathise with her, especially as everything that made her Perfect Lia slips away from her.

Robin Wasserman's writing style was smooth and elegant, evoking a genuine character voice. Lia's emotions and conflicts were portrayed realistically, and all of her actions were in character. I didn't have to agree with everything she did to appreciate her strong and distinct personality and invest in her story.

The ending felt incredibly clever in the way it leaves the characters in a position to make a huge turn-around. It drove home the realness, as well, with people acting terribly but realistically. Much of Frozen is about exploring humanity, and it's present in each character's prejudice and anger. In their emotions, positive or negative. These aren't charming, cheery characters you want to be friends with or just want to be -- they're who you already are. They're exactly like people really are.

Frozen was a brilliant beginning to the trilogy, focusing on creating the world and setting up Lia's situation and maturing her emotionally and, to a lesser extent, physically for promised tests of her character throughout Shattered and Torn. More touching than exhilarating, Frozen is a must-read for fans of Uglies and Feed and still strongly recommended for everyone else.

I give Frozen a 5 out of 5.


Author Biography - Robin Wasserman

Robin Wasserman is also the author of Hacking Harvard, the Seven Deadly Sins series, the New York Times #1 bestselling novelization A Cinderella Story, and the middle-grade series Chasing Yesterday. She lives in Brooklyn, New York, and you can visit her online at RobinWasserman.com.

Books By Robin Wasserman

Girls on Fire by Robin Wasserman
Paperback, February 2017
$27.67
Scooby-Doo and the Missing Scooby-Snacks by Robin Wasserman
Hardback, August 2016
$44.39
Scooby-Doo and the Snow Monster Scare by Robin Wasserman
Hardback, August 2016
$44.39
Scooby-Doo and the Valentine's Day Surprise by Robin Wasserman
Hardback, August 2016
$44.39